We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Gleneagles Guesthouse(Westcliff-on-Sea)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ilfracombe House Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
$103
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Seven Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
$122
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Skylark Hotel(Rochford)
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Welbeck Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southend Guest House(Westcliff-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Post(Southend-on-Sea)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
199
247
157
60
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
247
157
60
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewcliffs pavilionstreet parkinglarge bathroombuffet breakfasttwin roomafternoon teabooked this hotelwould stay againthames estuaryone night staywedding partylovely viewsaturday nightwedding receptionsandwicheshigh street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 696 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed recently for a four night break with my husband in a four poster sea view room.
Positives - The room was very clean, newly decorated with lovely views over the Thames. Staff throughout were very attentive and helpful. Jacuzzi bath and shower were also very good.
Not so positive - We were slightly disappointed with the room, in that for the price we paid it was quite small. We were also put off by the cleaning staff washing our mugs in the bathroom sink in the mornings, can only assume that they dried them with a used towel, Breakfast was plentiful but food could be standing under a heat lamp for some time, my bacon was crunchy rather than crispy. Parking although free, was also a nightmare. I had to park my car two streets away on arrival before securing a sought after space outside the hotel.
Overall I would recommend, perhaps out of season when the parking is less sought after and the room prices reduce.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 307traceyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservations W, Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2016

thank you for your review we take note of your comments
with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Went with my boyfriend for our anniversary and we ate at Piccolo's nearby. Service was excellent , room was very modern, clean and bed was very comfy. Breakfast was lovely and felt very relaxed there. Had a wonderful sea view- only minus point was there was no shower gel just tiny soaps and neither if is brought any!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Cathy,

Let us thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate your comments very much. We hope to welcome you again whenever you are back to Southend!

Kind regards,
Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with the girlfriend. Service was very good and friendly. Room large with a great sea view. Huge bathroom. Room was spotless. Great nights sleep on a lovely bed. Lovely Victorian building. Only a three star place but much better than a lot of four stars I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCooze05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Mr John Cooze,

We would like to thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again whenever you are back to Southend-on-Sea.

Best wishes from Westcliff Hotel staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Have had a one night stay here for my uncles wedding and it has been the most special event. We have been looked after extremely well by very polite and friendly staff. We were allowed into our room early to get ready for the wedding which we are extremely grateful for. The food was fantastic and the swift service made for a smooth running day. Really couldn't be happier with the whole experience and I want to thank them for making my uncles special day so perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Hannah,

Thank you very very much for such a lovely review. We will pass you comments to our staff and management.

Best wishes from the Westcliff Hotel staff !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our 2 day stay, really enjoyed it. Friendly staff, excellent food.

Only complaint and why I have only given 4 stars was the mattress we stayed in room 306 I think it needs replacing. My boyfriend woke up with a bad back both mornings and I felt a bit stiff. The second night we asked for extra pillows they were there with in minutes but still did not help the back situation.

Views from the hotel was amazing watching the lightning storms over Kent before they hit South End on Sea.

Hotel very clean and tidy staff professional and friendly would return

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave the comments on TripAdvisor. We glad you thought you had an enjoyable stay, we were sorry to hear your boyfriend woke up with a bad back. We passed your comments to our maintenance manager so they could change the mattress in the room.

Thank you once again for your review and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Kind regards,
Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews