We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snug as a bug”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Snug as a bug”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The wind was blowing a gale outside of this traditional seaside hotel last night but good double glazing kept us safe from wind and rain as Mother Nature splashed the promenade with wave upon wave of churning sea and pebble.

Traditional it may be but only inasmuch as that in days gone by, this would undoubtedly have been a traditional middle market family holiday hotel just West of Southend on Sea. Today it has been tastefully adapted to meet the needs of the modern traveller or reveller (in our case the latter) with understated nods to elegance here and there.

We booked in because we were attending a 50th birthday party and on this point I must tip my hat to the ladies working the bar. They were fast, polite and all managed to keep smiling through what must have been a long shift.

My wife found the bed in our room a little hard whereas I found it perfect. Jack Spratt and all that if you know what I mean.

All in all a nice place for one or two nights if you have a weekend free.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room. We did and it was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImpBublinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed review from your recent visit. We will pass your kind comments to all the staff.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    215
    128
    51
    26
See reviews for
95
230
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England
Level Contributor
175 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with some colleagues for a night whilst in Southend on business. I was booked into a small double room on the first floor which was adequate for single occupancy but would have been very cramped if there had been two of us in there. The view across the estuary to the Kent coast was excellent and made up for the ill-fitting window.
We had an excellent meal in the restaurant. I chose from the table d'hote menu - good value, well cooked and beautifully presented.
The buffet breakfast was also very good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank instoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Recetion Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay.

Look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Pretty basic but well located for Southend attractions which are not in abundance.
Staff ok but not particularly warm.
Drinks priced extravagantly and bar food average.
It is located close to some really nice restaurants,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking your time to write to us. We will pass your comments to our staff.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our first visit to the Westcliff Hotel but it will not be the last. The rooms were great value, clean, comfortable with great views. The bathrooms were very tastefully done. Then there is the food, the breakfast is superb and you will not leave hungry or disappointed. We had the evening meal on Saturday night and enjoyed the ambiance so much that we stayed 10 minutes past the restaurant closing. The staff were great and did not rush us and appreciated our apologies. We also decided to stay longer and enjoy the Sunday lunch, I have a big appetite and left full having had a food orgasm with every dish. All the staff are smartly presented, helpful and polite with nothing being too much trouble. Staying at the Westcliff Hotel really made our weekend get away relaxing and enjoyable. The staff and owners should be very proud.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Steven P,

Thank you for leaving such a nice review from your recent stay. We are delighted you found the rooms clean and comfortable. Also enjoyed your meals in our Lamplights Brasserie.We will pass your kind comments to our staff and management.

We look forward to your visit again in the future.

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

An older building which has been updated and offers comfy, warm rooms, late bar and a cracking eat-all-you-like breakfast.
Much more friendly than the Premier Inn type places I normally use and a lot cheaper too.
Didnt use the restaurant for an evening meal so cant comment on that but I suspect that would also be good.
Good views across the Thames estuary to Kent and close enough to the seafront to walk off that huge brekky !
Will make a point of using this hotel when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing across the estuary have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review from your recent stay. We are delighted you found our rooms comfortable and warm and enjoyed the breakfast in the morning.

We look forward to your visit again in the future.

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just returned from one Saturday night at the Westcliff. Great position overlooking the Thames estuary and along the lovely esplanade of Westcliff. Delightful room, we had chosen a twin bedded, with view. Lovely spacious room, lovely decor, best hotel room in ages? Hotel decor too lovely throughout. Very helpful reception who recommended Leigh on Sea for Saturday afternoon bars, boutique shops and excellent directions to Broadway. One problem was lighting in room was poor - too dim to read by - and lampshades in black do not give enough lighting. Rang reception Saturday evening for an extra lamp but this did not arrive at all, such a shame for what was otherwise a lovely, restful experience. Breakfast buffet hot, excellent and great choice.

Room Tip: Room 201 on front overlooking estuary is spacious, pretty and sound proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We all glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass your comments to our staff and the maintenance manager so he could change the lights in the room.

Look forward to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We've just booked The Westcliffe again for the third time - every time we stay we have a wonderful time! We visit Essex as often as we can to see our grandchildren.We always stay at The Westcliffe. The beds are ultra- comfy, the views fantastic and relaxing. Super big flat screen TV on the wall. Whsat's not to like?

We had a front facing room with a sea view. The superior rooms are spacious, and our bathroom was to die for! The staff are friendly and very helpful, the 24 hour room service is great- we ordered a delish cheese sandwich for our little granddaughter and it was all lovely! All fresh food and presented on a platter with posh crisps and all arriving very soon after we'd ordered it. Room service prices are reasonable too.

Truly a home from home!

All the staff in the corridors, bar, restaurants and reception, are smiley and helpful.

The big white building itself is very imposing, stylish, grand and victorian with a newly reburbished bar art deco style. It is really nice.

There is a lift if you don't fancy the stairs, The theatre (Cliffs Pavillion) is within walking distance. It's a short car drive to the centre of Southend or it is within walking distance for many (I have a back condition, so we have to drive in, but I guess its only a five or ten minute walk.) The seafront is right in front of the hotel and you can easily walk down to it through the cliff gardens.
The breakfasts are excellent and it's a buffet style- yum!

We asked if we could leave a pushchair in the lobby for a little while. That was fine- it really felt like the staff were part of our family!
You don't often feel this in the bigger hotels. Bigger hotels, however luxurious, often struggle to create the personal touch. This hotel just has it in buckets.
To sum up, it's got the cosy and stylish ambiance of a boutique hotel, yet is large and magestic too, with all the modern facilities you need. 24 hour room service. 24 hour bar. 24 hour reception. Restaurant with good food. Upgrading is also available. Book it!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth paying that bit more for, plus they have discounts on them on booking.c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saintmaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you very very much for your review. We are all delighted to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us. Could you please let us know under what name you booked your room with us so we could upgrade you in future?

Look forward to welcoming you back at The Westcliff Hotel
Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Westcliff Hotel

Property: Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Address: 18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Muthu Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Muthu Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing