We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly disappointed :o(”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Westcliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westcliff Hotel
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed :o(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I'll keep this short-ish as I don't enjoy writing negative reviews, although this is my first for a hotel.

The Westcliff looks lovely from the outside - old yet clean & grande. The lobby's the same. But the room, ohhhhh the room! Dark & dingy with poor lighting. It left little to be desired, and had a terrible smell which lingered the whole time we were there - just the one night thankfully.

After breakfast - which was delicious by the way - I called reception & asked for an extra 45 mins before check out, which was granted. Only to be called several minutes later and told that we must leave the room.

So we did.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Soory to hear you had a dissapointing stay. Could you please let us know in which room you stayed as we haven't got your surname on the system.

Kind Regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    213
    125
    50
    25
See reviews for
94
227
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went for a Christmas party function paid £25 per head for party including 3 course meal and £50 for a room including breakfast. At these prices my expectations weren't high!!!
How wrong could I have been the meal was one of the best I have had in a long while and the staff were fantastic. This also went for the breakfast the next day.
The room was a little on the small side but had everything you need for 1 night including teat and coffee making facilities.
I have stayed in many places and paid much more for a lot less.
Will be booking for the same function in 2014 this was the best value I have seen recently.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We will be delighted to welcome you back next time.

With Kind Regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

One night stay in Southend/Westcliff on Sea - good accommodation, big rooms (huge bathroom) and a very good breakfast. All you need. I had a sea view so that was an added bonus. There isn't much around the hotel (except the huge theater) so nice and peaceful, but a walk to bars and restaurants

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieFulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for sharing the comments about your room and good breakfast service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Chose one of the rooms with a four poster, just to add that extra bit of 'romance'. Room was so pretty, a the sea view fantastic! Lovely big bathroom, and all very clean. After an afternoon shopping it was so nice to be able to relax in the bar. Even though there was another function on at the time, the bar staff worked very well, and were so nice. A really lovely little secret in Westcliff. Have booked again, and will also be back when we go to the Cliffs Pavillion in March!!

Room Tip: Go for the 4 poster rooms! a little extra romance and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BlueSwan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write to us. We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again as had booked tickets for cliffs pavilion and having stayed elsewhere last few years of gigs decided to give it another go.

Wow stayed in lovely room (404) will ask for it again as was worth the trek upstairs ... Loved the bath n views are fab ..Ate in restraunt was nice service was very good .. Had breakfast delivered was really good stay wish we'd booked 2 nights ... Next time we book a show we may well stay on .. Thanks

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abblina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are all happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and liked our newly refurbished room.

Hope to see you soon

With kind regards

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for work and enjoyed my stay. Parking was great, plenty of space. My room was OK, enough room for me, clean, no complaints. The real gem here is the food. The food is under priced for the quality you get. I paid something like £13 for a three course meal which should of been about £25 anywhere else. Good, tasty food. The breakfast buffet was also good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_H0pkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Look forward to welcome you back in near future.

With kind regards

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I had a fabulous evening at the Dean Martin & Elvis tribute evening. I came with 7 girlfriends and 6 of us stayed the night. I was in a lovely suite, and was lucky enough to have a double bed to myself. The room was spotless, the bathroom was amazing. My only moan would be, when spent lots of money on a room and keep the battered old bathroom door. The room was warm and very quiet. Breakfast was delish, hot, tasty and lots of it. We are going to book to come again next year for our Christmas celebration, thank you for a great time...xxxxxx

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Essextwinkleangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind commets. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time with us.

Look forward to welcome you back next year!

Have a lovely Christmas!

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Hotel

Property: Westcliff Hotel
Address: 18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing