We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit wont be the last”
Review of FujiYama

FujiYama
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I recently visited FujiYama for the first time with a friend who had been before who recommended it and how right she was too.
The food was gorgeous i have not had Sushi like it before and can't wait to go back.
We had the weekday menu which was 14.50 each along with 2 extra sushi dishes and I have to say our eyes were bigger than our bellies as we struggled to finish it all.
The portion sizes were bigger than I expected but it was so worth the struggle as we enjoyed every mouthful.
The ambience was nice and relaxing and the staff we very friendly and efficient so i will definitely look forward to going back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elliemay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear elliemay22,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your first visit to FujiYama. We are also glad that you enjoyed the sushi as we make all our sushi to order to ensure freshness. We pride ourselves on providing good customer service and we try to do our best to accommodate our customers. We hope to see you again soon.

FujiYama Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for FujiYama
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 107 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nice, clean restaurant but soooo expensive! A simple meal for two with a bottle of water cost £93.00! Nice food but very, very expensive.

If money is not object, that’s fine but I was shocked at how costly the food was. I regret that I will not be going back. Ever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidBazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear DavidBazil,

Thank you for your recent review and we are glad that you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere of the restaurant. It is disappointing that you found the price to be shocking and poor value for money.

We have checked our records for your bill just to make sure that it was correct, as you probably saw we were very busy on that night.

We understand that there may be other restaurants in the area where you could probably have spent less but for a meal that comprised of a 2 Course Kiku Set Meal for 2 at £22 per person as well as a 8 Piece Tempura Prawn Chef's Special Roll £10.90, Grilled Duck with Japanese Plum Sauce £9.90, 3 desserts including FujiYama Deep Fried Tempura Ice Cream Cake £5.80, Homemade Green Tea Ice Cream £5.50 and a portion of Dorayaki Japanese Pancakes £4.80, with a large bottle of mineral water £4. The bill came to a total of £93.40, including 10% service. Taking into account the number of dishes ordered, we believe the price was fair as we aim to offer excellent quality fresh ingredients.

We value and respect our customers, many of whom are regulars and know the menu well. We are disappointed that you shall not be returning. We do have a 2 course mid week set menu which is priced very reasonably at £14.50 per person should you wish to give us another chance in the future.

FujiYama Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I popped in for lunch this time and tried their Bento boxes, which are great value for money!
I had the Chicken and Salmon Teriyaki bento and it came with a Miso soup, rice, salad and fruit. It came as a pleasant surprise to me when I saw the large amount of food being served to me in traditional Bento boxes, which made the experience all the more exciting! I decided to try a pot of green tea, and it was really great since it was a very cold day. The tea was unlimited and I was delighted!
My bill came to just under £16.50, including service. Individually, the bento was £12.50 and the tea was £2.30.

Quick lunch, great value and great food! I couldn't ask for more!

Certainly coming back next time to try their new midweek special menu and no doubt I'll be here for mother's day!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Tracy J,

Welcome back to FujiYama. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us.

We've recently introduced our new 2 course mid week menu for just £14.50 per person! There's a choice of 5 starters and 6 main courses. All set meals are served with a choice of Japanese Boiled Rice or Egg Fried Rice. We hope you will be able to try this out in the near future.

Look forward to seeing you soon!

FujiYama Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal with friends. Tried the sushi and had some miso soup. Katsu curry teriyaki. Dumplings and noodles! We all really enjoyed ourselves.
Can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nslate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Nslate1,

We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner at FujiYama. If you would like to sample other new dishes next time, please don't hesitate to ask any of the staff. We are more than happy to help you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

FujiYama Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been going to Fujiyama once in a while over the last 6-7 years. At every visit, we always say t's a shame if it was slightly cheaper, we would have come back more. The price is nearly as high as those top-noch Japanese restraints in Mayfair, London, where all the big corporate / embassy guests would be treated by, big corporates / embassies. For example, basic dishes like "chicken teriyaki" (small portion, nearly £10) don't even come with rice. They do offer cheaper lunch box sets (but again over £10 mark) -- but on some winter days we found the heating wasn't on in the restaurant (to save cost?) so we had to eat with our winter coats on. And even the food is good, that's not a pleasant dining experience.

Yes it is a nice restaurant, but in this current economic climate, everyone is looking for value for money. I would think it would be difficult for Fujiyama to survive if it doesn't come up with a new idea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MargaritaWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJY126, General Manager at FujiYama, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear MargaritaWhite,

We would like to thank you for your loyalty over the past 6 years. We understand the current economic climate and we have taken your views on board. We are currently in the process of designing a new Two Course Mid Week Menu which will include some of our most popular dishes. Hopefully you will be able to try this menu in the near future which will be great value for money. Please give us a call in early February for more details. As always, we hope to bring you the freshest of ingredients.

FujiYama Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FujiYama also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to FujiYama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing