We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teppanyaki Table's are a must!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of FujiYama

FujiYama
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Teppanyaki Table's are a must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We went here in a family group of 9 so we had the whole tepanyaki table to ourselves (apart from 2 men together on the end which was fine). I would definitely recommend going for the Teppanyaki table's if you can, it is alot of fun and the set menu's are much better value than the ala carte menu. Some of us went for the meat set menu (chicken, steak, pork) and others went for the seafood (giant prawns, cod, salmon), but we all also got salad, miso soup, noodles & vegetables. The food is cooked infront of you on hot plates and served course by course (about 6-7 courses in total) followed by ice cream and fruit cut into pretty shapes. 7 out of the 9 of us were drinking alcohol and the bill came to around £40 per person, very good value. We also got Japanese robes to wear which made it that bit more fun :)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pyramid160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    11
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A treat for the taste buds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We went for our anniversay and had an amazing food experience. Although it was quite pricy. Our meal came to £140 - we had starters, two lots of main each one cold a varity of sushi made fresh and one hot one each lobster and king prawns and a sweet each. Plus 2 drinks each - i would say that u would have to pay that amount up London for Michelin Starr quality. And was as good even better The fish was so fresh and the flavours were fantastic I would pay it again. You can have set meals starting at £22 each so there are cheaper alternatives and all is very fresh. The tenpanyaki bar was full and looked liked good fun We just wanted to spoil ourselves. We had lobster and king prawns and scallops tuna and seabass in our meal. We will definatly go back. Mmmmmmmmmm

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Annual Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is the 5th time me and my girlfriend have been to Fujiyami. We go on average about once a year and the Tepanyaki combination set meal x 2 sets us back around £100 (which also allows us a drink each). Surprisingly the chef recognises us each time and we are always made to feel welcome. With the Tepanyaki the food is always cooked fresh right in front of you with a little theatrics to make it a unique interactive experience. The food itself is always very tasty and never fails to impress, however the way in which it is cooked is a little samey and could for some peoples tastes be too similar.
Within the combination menu there is a prawn dish that is cooked with a lobster tail marinade which is not to my liking and having said that the chef has always made something new up on the spot which I enjoy and he seems to like doing!
We will certainly be going back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious teppenyaki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Reasonable price for the really tasty food which cook on the grill table in front of you. I ordered a seafood set meal and my friend who came with me ordered meat set meal and it came with salad, soup and fruits. We both very enjoyed the food and the cooking show (especially the fire). I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YCT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner and a show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We have only had the tepanyaki but every time it has been excellent. We recently took our children as a special treat and was pleased to find it open on a Sunday afternoon. We had the staff to ourselves that day but have always found them attentive and friendly. Would always recommend

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FujiYama also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Brentwood, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to FujiYama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing