We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Trinity Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Trinty. Alan and Jill do an excellent job. The location is great for a lovely walk along the seafront and into Old Leigh. The guest house is beautifully decorated and our room was warm, spotless and classy. Breakfast was superb with lots of lovely choices.We left feeling refreshed and spoilt. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgansouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    37
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
66
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a six room bed and breakfast run by a very polite and friendly couple. Though it's called a hotel, you really feel like you're actually staying at someone's house, it's very homely here. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, and they make a mean English brekkie in the morning for you! I paid £45 for a night in a single room, very reasonable I thought. Free bottled water in the fridge, too.

It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the pier/town centre, take the walk along the seafront, it's very scenic!

Overall my stay was very pleasant, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A great find if you are visiting Southend Area. Right next to the Pavillion - 15 minute walk into Southend Town Centre along the front and about 45 the other way into Old Leigh. Paid £10 more for a larger room - which had very comfortable double bed, small sofa/dressing area and a ensuite shower room - good sized cubicle with powerful shower. Jill the owner couldnt do enough to make our stay comfortable - the breakfast was fantastic with gorgous homemade granola, fresh berries - blackberries, raspberries and strawberries, followed by either full english breakfast or muffin with bacon mushrooms, rocket etc on top - all cooked freshly to order. You sit in the kitchen on two large tables so you may have to share with other couples - but this is nice and friendly! There was also banana muffins straight from the oven - delicious! The room itself, if I were to be highly critical could do with a lick of paint but it was overall very clean and the owners have lovely taste in furniture - very modern (quite Habitat ie). Tea Coffee and water provided in the rooms and flat screen tv with ipod dock a nice touch. Would definitely stay here again if visiting this area. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 or Room 6 (nice sized doubles)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royaltiger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay here with a friend. We had a lovely large room with seating area at the top of the house. Nice clean shower room with good shower. Nice big tv and ipod dock, as well a magazine rack full of reading material. Fridge in hallway stocked with free bottles of mineral water which was very welcome. Alan and Jill were very pleasant and made our stay comfortable and gave us good advice on where to visit etc. The breakfast is as good as the other reviews state- try the granola and the mushrooms on toast.
Parking was a bit tricky, worsened by the fact we arrived on a bank holiday and there was a beer festival taking place at the Cliffs Pavilion. However, we did find a space in a neighbouring road so don't be put off. All in all, this is likely to be the best place to stay in the area. The hotel is clean, modern, welcoming and excellent value for money.
I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: Room 6 is dubbed the 'penthouse'. Has a nice chaise lounge perfect watching tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckym83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Not normally the type of person to stay at a hotel which is more of a bed and breakfast but I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and the couple who own it. My girlfriend and I stayed on a Friday night and I was even able to reserve fresh flowers in the room before arrival which was nice. We was instantly welcomed on arrival and made to feel at home. The couple are very friendly but not in your face. The room was large enough for easy movement and bright enough being on the top floor. The hotel does need a slight touch up in terms of cracked plaster walls but nothing drastic. The breakfast in the morning however was amazing!! All the food is grilled instead of fried and set us up for a nice long day. As the hotel was fully booked for the Saturday night they were even kind enough to recommend available hotels in the area instead. Would welcome another visit and wouldn't expect anything less than the warm welcome we received on this occasion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Normally I view hotels as soulless places. A place to dump your bags and just sleep for the night. The Trinity however made me feel like I just wanted to hang around, it was lovely.
Beautifully styled, by a lovely couple who could not have been more helpful and welcoming with an AMAZING breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkjunkeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I haven't been to Westcliff and Leigh on Sea for over ten years, and back then I thought this was such a lovely community! And it's been reaffirmed on this visit. Jill and Alan own and run such a lovely establishment here, and I highly recommend their place as a respite while visiting this area. The walk along the cliff was very welcome this morning. The breakfast was fantastic! And I could have had more! The room is very comfortable, and stylish too, in a homey way. Very friendly. Close to all parts of the town.

Room Tip: Parking may be difficult, but I did see spaces near the cliff-side road. It's on a one-way syst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAtheDUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
590 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southend Guest House
Southend Guest House
#3 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#10 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trinity Hotel

Property: The Trinity Hotel
Address: 3 Trinity Avenue, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7PU, England (Formerly Chilton House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity hotel is situated just two minutes walk from the Cliffs Pavilion Theatre and the Westcliff sea front.We have six stylish rooms – all en-suite & Wi-Fi. We welcome you whether for a one night business stay, short break or longer stay.Our aim is simple. We want you to return!. We believe a comfortable room with excellent breakfast and a friendly helpful smile is the key to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Trinity Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing