We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Well worth a visit

From outside you have no inkling of what lies inside. This is a fascinating free museum with plenty... read more

Reviewed April 16, 2018
MICK0950
,
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Great family visit

Our children live this little museum. Great to have the little explorers buckets at the start. We... read more

Reviewed April 10, 2018
Ann C
via mobile
Read all 27 reviews
  
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
14
10
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
10
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local history sun street tudor explorer exhibits paneling information collection children event
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2018

From outside you have no inkling of what lies inside. This is a fascinating free museum with plenty to see inside an a well tended garden outside. The display of swimwear through the ages was very interesting and the film of Clacton in years gone by brought back personal memories.

Thank MICK0950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

Our children live this little museum. Great to have the little explorers buckets at the start. We took part in the art exhibit. Great place to visit

Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Found this museum's exhibits varied and interesting. It is set out over three or so floors but there is a small lift for those that have difficulty climbing stairs. A varied programme of different activities over the next few months for a small fee are also available. Entry to the museum is free with opportunity to volunteer if local. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

1  Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017 via mobile

A delightful experience with informative, helpful staff to tell you about local history and much more

Thank alanbG1199SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

A really friendly welcome from the pleasant and informative staff who are great ambassadors for this splendid little museum. It is very well designed and exceptionally well curated; all credit to those responsible. One star exhibit is the Abbey House panelling in the 'Treasures' section. I also enjoyed the more recent local history of businesses and people. I will definitely return!

Thank Joolyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Last time we visited, the entrance was through the library next door. Now the museum has its own entrance on the street and it has extended over the top of the library, giving far more space and an airy feel. The Core of the collection is the objects that tell the story of the area. Much more of these exhibits are accessible in the very modern top floor. Lift access is a bonus for disabled people.
The upgrade has been very well thought out and the whole building is very modern inside despite its Tudor beams. The museum holds regular events for young families in particular, so it is worth returning, time and again - especially as it is free.

Thank ShaunH290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Pleasant museum at the eastern end of Sun Street in pedestrianised street. Friendly welcome. Displays don't seem to change very often. The special exhibition when we visited wasn't particularly interesting, but overall, well worth a visit

Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

This is a lovely little museum, on the main street running through Waltham Abbey. It is well laid out and contains enough information about the history of the area to keep everyone interested. It is free but I gave what I thought was a well deserved donation.

Thank KJE61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

The name is a misnomer as the museum is based in Waltham Abbey town focusing on social history whereas Epping Forest District museum would bring up the idea it was a natural history museum.

However dispite this there are very interesting exhibits from around Waltham Abbey (ok I admit, the district of Epping Forest). The museum is clean, has a lift for those with mobility issues although you have to keep your hand on the button. And the staff are polite and friendly.
Access is free.

1  Thank SundayLunchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Visit here with my family on occassions and always enjoy our visit. Has a lift installed now but perhaps a little walkway ramp would have been a better idea to the toilets instead of steps for people with mobility problems. The staff upon reception are pretty much ok, quite friendly and the souvenier bit is lovely. All in all a good experience.

Thank plume10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews