We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a place to stay if you like quiet and service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
europe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a place to stay if you like quiet and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed over the weekend and unfortunately the staff were very inexperienced, a corridor party started early on the evening of the 18th and continued until 7AM the following morning, the staff could not prevent the paying & none paying guest from disturbing the other quests and we suffering an excruciating night of foul language and worse ! despite repeated requests to the management they were unable to contain the people involved.
My advise would be to look elsewhere if you require any kind of customer care.
The rooms we had have seen much better days cracked bathroom furniture and a TV service reminiscent of the 70's damp rooms and condensation between the double glaced windows, in my opinion this hotel does not rate more than 2 stars and there are much better 2 star hotels available elsewhere.
The Marriott group should be totally ashamed of this establishment.
Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    264
    143
    65
    63
See reviews for
149
188
25
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

This was a nice hotel. Staff were pleasant, breakfast was good. We dined there for 3 nights, which was possibly too long (limited choice after a while). Food was quite expensive too.
I couldn't fault the hotel, but it was rather impersonal fo rmy liking.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

This is a typical 80’s built business hotel, pretty inhuman and quite dull. The hotel is, in common with all Marriotts, spotlessly clean and all staff are knowledgeable and polite. Small rooms are standard and the high London prices Marriott charges make this a poor value choice. The hotel has just finished a major bedroom refurbishment and this has been done to a high standard. Nonetheless as you sit in your small room midweek contemplating a £150 bill per night you can't help feeling there is better value to be found elsewhere. In common with all Marriotts it has the wonderfully comfortable new beds so, provided the cost doesn’t give you nightmares you should sleep very soundly. Very convenient for Enfield but that’s about it really. . I only stay here if business takes me to Enfield, otherwise I avoid it as it does not represent value.

  • Liked — comfy room
  • Disliked — horrific prices
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

We prefer Marriotts and if you are looking for a hotel in this area, it is a dependable choice for this area (mind you the area's hotels are a bit down-level from London proper-type of hotels). The room was very nice , spacious and clean and the only issue is that they did not have the Marriott bed which is so nice. The rest of the hotel is a bit worn (especially the carpet near the pool), but serviceable. The staff is excellent and super helpful. Very good at ringing for taxis and drinks/food service. MUCH friendlier than the other Marriott we stayed at in London (Kensington, yuck). If you have to stay on the outskirts, it is handy to just take a taxi to Loughton station (though expensive - 9 pounds) and take the red line on the Tube. Because it is a bedroom community, it is crowded coming back during the late afternoon though. I would definitely stay here again because of the staff and relative closeness to Loughton.

  • Liked — Staff help
  • Disliked — Needed Marriott bed.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MJJ001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

Having only stayed in 2 Marriots before hand, i might not be in a position to comment on their overall standards but this one is definately not up to scratch.. Visited for a wedding.

1st impressions driving in; it looked like a retirement home, grounds not very well kept, long grass and it just looked upkempt. Check in was very pleasent though no problems, although the rest of our party arrived late after a flight delay and their checkin took over 30 mins ("our computers are down"). This wasn't the first time we heard this over the weekend.
Rooms were ok, but nothing compared to Druid Glen Marriott where we've stayed previously. LIttle cramped but fine for 2 nights. For a longer stay i'd suggest upgrading to something bigger.
Visited the leisure and was very dissapointed. Changing rooms were filthy, showers mouldy, one drain for 3 showers so all the shower water from 2 adjoining showers ran into the drain in the last shower. Not a nice thought if you're in the last shower. Half the gym equipment was in the hallway leading to the gym, and not a great selection when you actually got into the gym; not impressed and would not recommend at all unless some serious money is spent on modernising.

Foyer bar was ok, all open plan and no quiet areas you could have a conversation. I know its a hotel but drink prices seemed high to me and this was confirmed by the english guests at the wedding. They was fairly shocked actually.. And once again computers were down so any drinks had to be charged to your room.

Wedding reception was ok, meal not wedding standard but nice anyhow. Dj was great fun, crowd going within 30 seconds, compare for the day was very professional and curteous. All in all a good day.

Check out the following day was fine, no issues but computers down again so receipts had to be sent to home and because we checked out we couldn't charge drinks to our room and had to have exact change when paying for coffees and sandwiches..

Won;t be rushing back...

  • Liked — Only 20 mins from Stansted Airport
  • Disliked — Leisure Center was terrible, old and dated...
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PadraicMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waltham Abbey hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Marriot and we found the Hotel to be very good, We were 6 adults and a baby and had three bedrooms which were all very good and the staff at the Hotel were superb and would go out of there way to help us in everything we asked for and other stuff we were not too sure off. The breakfast was fantastic something for everyone the staff even warmed up food for our little neice. The staff at the hotel made our weekend special and would recomend this hotel just for the staff.The pool area is very big and plenty of space even when it was busy.Its very easy to get to from the M25. We did not eat at th hotel so i cannot comment ,We went to a Turkish restaurant in the city centre and that has just been opened the owner said it only been opened 40 days ago, it was fantastic.We had a 4 course meal for £ 95.00p which i think for the 6 of us is good value for money.The restaurant is quite hard to find because its in the town centre and its all one way street, but if you can find the New Inn pub turn right just after the pub and you can park round the back and walk through a little cut to the restaurant.

  • Disliked — The weather
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Satish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

This is not Marriott standard. The rooms are okay, and the beds are quite frankly great. However that is where it ends, the general facilities and level of service is far below what one would expect from a Marriott. In fact I have been staying here regularly for more than one year, and things are going downhill fast. The staff is generally poorly trained and poorly motivated. The hotel lounge bar is a disaster service wise, and the quality of breakfast has deteriorated seriously over the last 12 months. This place is okay to stay in, but is nowhere near what you would expect from a Marriott.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The general level of facilities and lack of service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BraddyBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
3.7 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Property: Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott and Orbitz so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing