We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a school trip for my niece. It went above our expectation. It's a bit old hotel with ordinary decor but clean and neat, the staff made it feel like home. They were extremely helpful and friendly. I strongly recommend this hotel for a stay in Waltham abbey.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr.amal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 792 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Marriott Waltham Abbey is handily sitauated just off the M25.

Good sized, extremely clean and comfy bedrooms. Good quality, reasosnable priced food.

As per other Marriotts wi-fi is chargable if used in your bedroom, but free in the public areas.

Friendly staff.

Have to leave a £50 retainer against your credit card on arrival - this seemed unnecessary

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripreview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I had a two day sales conference here and felt the hotel was nice, rooms were spacious and we had breakfast, lunch & dinner here and I found the food to be of good quality and hot.
Staff were polite and attentive and the parking was also good here. The issues I have read on here regarding the parking fines are just ridiculous... All you do is enter your reg number at reception and that's it... The reception staff did check as well to see if I had done this!
The conference rooms and facilities were large, clean and modern.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank jamesmason885111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stay in Waltham abbey at least 2 nights a week in either the premier inn or the Marriott. I have issue with the price not matching the quality. Leaking urinal in lobby toilet been leaking for 2 weeks!! Food is a bit of a disappointment for the cost, they never seem to get my bill right and the hotel policy to leave a £50 retainer for each night you stay leaves me feeling robbed. Safe your money and the upset and go to Premier Inn or any where else. Sorry Marriott must try harder.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooplaharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s_clifford_banks, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Hooplaharris,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to read that you feel that the price we charge does not represent good value for money.

I have discussed the issue of the urinal with my Chief Engineer who has adjusted the internal pipework to allow quicker drainage. The issue was not in fact a leak, but rather a blockage caused by tissues being left urinal causing it to overflow. This however should have been picked up by our housekeeping team much sooner. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have cased you.

I note also your comments regarding our quality and value of food. Whilst it is disappointing to read your comments I am pleased to be able to let you know that this week we have changed our Restaurant, Bar and Room Service menus. I am certain you will notice a difference on your next visit with us.

I am sorry also that you are not happy with our policy of taking a £50 deposit on your credit or debit card at check in. This is a policy that allows our guests to use all the hotel services without the need to pay at each outlet (For example the Bar and Restaurant which are closed to non residents and no longer accept cash after 11pm). I am sorry if this is inconvenient for you, if you would like to discuss this in more detail, or discuss alternative solutions please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly.

Kind regards,

Seth


, Restaurant, . Without this deposit and allows for a more convenient

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

For a large chain this hotel is a good example of value for money with high standards for the rating and the market it is aimed at. Had read a couple of disappointing reviews on Trip Advisor but we found no evidence to support them during our visit. We were in the area for a particular reason and based our stay, purely on the location of the hotel. The hotel was very busy with outside events as well as valentines weekend but nevertheless the staff were always friendly, helpful, efficient and the service and food a far higher standard (in fact a very high standard) than expected and all surprisingly good value. Room as fine, very clean and well maintained. This is hard to do with the volume of visitors they cater to and often unusual with many chains, but they achieved it and in all the public areas as well. Compared with a similar chain of the same rating, that we (often have to stay with, again due to location not choice) this hotel leaves them standing. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Recently stayed at the Marriott in waltham Abbey the room was lovely and clean. We also had dinner in the restaurant which was cooked to perfection and teh staff were friendly and attentive. Would definitely recommend this hotel was a night away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good standard Marriott. Comfortable bed, easy access to M25 but quiet. Best thing is the breakfast buffet and the chef making omelets which were excellent. Great service at a reasonable price for London area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Traveling_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
3.8 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
699 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Cheshunt
Travelodge Cheshunt
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
10.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range: $96 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing