We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Such friendly staff!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here recently as we had a wedding in the area. My girlfriend had booked for the night of the wedding and some time later i found a deal for the night before which I booked in my name. There is only space to make brief comments on the booking form but the hotel had picked up on that and allowed us to stay in the same room with a simple key swap in the middle, which was very handy! The staff were so friendly at all times and the 20m pool is superb. It is a great hotel and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saintstatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    278
    154
    71
    67
See reviews for
160
199
26
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend-long conference at a nearby school and was very impressed with the standard of the hotel. We arrived an hour before check-in, and staff were very happy to hand our entire party (12 or so rooms) room keys for us to unpack before travelling to the first part of the conference.
Over the weekend we made use of the gym which was very well equipped, and lounge bar which was extremely expensive - as most hotels are! Expect to pay double price for a latte than in a high street coffee shop.
The hotel have recently introduced free wi-fi for an hour, although it took us quite a while to establish how this worked. Otherwise wi-fi was extremely expensive, but the available printing facilities made up for this.
Breakfast was by far one of the best I have had at a hotel before, the restaurant had everything from American waffles to fruit teas. Handmade breads were amazing and the choice available was stunning.
Rooms were very spacious, soundproofed well, and staff were very quick to provide an extra duvet for when I got a bit cold one evening!
All in all a very pleasant stay, and I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STurnpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A large and spacious Marriott, this hotel is out of the way from anywhere in particular but well connected via the M25 to just about anywhere. Popular with travellers to Stansted Airport. I had a good stay here. The rooms were clean and comfortable with all the things you would expect for the price. Beds were very comfortable. Could perhaps do wit a decorate and refurb as it's looking very 90's. Still, a good hotel with nice staff and good food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYZEE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed with friends for a weekend spa/fitness break. We arrived to a plentiful afternoon tea but was not too impressed with the presentation: mugs, sandwiches, scones, cakes, cream and strawberries arrived on trays and put in the centre of two tables, as there were eight of us a lot of leaning over and we had to keep asking for more tea and milk.

After paying the extra £4 for parking (never had to do that before on visiting a hotel !) everything improved. ~The centre of Waltham Abbey is a good 30 minutes walk.

The room was excellent and the two evening buffet meals were also extremely good with white linen table cloths and napkins, the breakfast bar had a waffle maker, jam to place in a pot (not wrapped), eggs freshly cooked, lots of choice and tea and coffee came in a flask, the staff friendly and helpful. Hope I have chance to go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cottyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while visiting friends in Essex, the Hotel was very reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels in the area. The rooms were very clean and the facilities were excellent. Upon arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly and overall we had a very nice stay.

One downside is that the hotel is not within walking distance to any sort of amenities, (Cash-points, bars, restaurants or shops) and the restaurant in the hotel is extortionately priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron050741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break with my husband and two daughters 5&8. Service was excellent right from the beginning, we arrived at 12pm not expecting to get our room, were told to wait and then within 30 mins were told that our room wasnt ready and that we could be upgraded to a suite...free of charge! The food in the restaurant was of a good quality and breakfast offered a wide variety. We made use of the leisure facilities which incuded 3 pools all lovely and warm. The kids loved it. The location was very good to get to central as we parked the car at Loughton 10 mins away and got on to the central line which took us to central within 30 mins.
The only downside was the £4 per night parking but a tip is once you`ve unloaded is to just park the car on the road opposite which was free. On the whole a great break

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonlalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights while attending a wedding nearby as the bride and groom had arranged a special rate for guests.
The main hotel areas and our room were clean and very pleasant. Our room was spacious and clean, the bed was particularly comfy.

We were annoyed and suprised at having to pay an additional £4 a day for car parking. With the hotel being so close to the M25 I can appreciate that parking could be an issue but surely including this to the room rate will avoid the cost being seen as an extra cost being added to the bill!

We ate in the restaurant on our first night and while he food was nice we felt it was overpriced for what it was. We joined a party and ordered after them, they had been waiting some time for their order and the children were getting restless. There wasn't anyone else in the restaurant. When the food did arrive ours came very quickly after and while we had no problem several dishes were sent back as they were cold, and others were eaten cold as they were too hungry to complain!

My glass of wine was a ridiculous £9.50 - I only had one!! Two burgers, a lemonade and the wine came to £45, we had spent a few days in central London before arriving and this is much more than we paid there! The drinks in the bar were similarly priced so I would advice checking before you order!

Breakfast was very good on both days with a full buffet and chef on hand to cook specific orders and the daily special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate_bindotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
3.8 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
663 reviews
3.7 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Cheshunt
Travelodge Cheshunt
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
316 reviews
12.9 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Property: Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing