We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid but uninspiring business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Solid but uninspiring business hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently stayed for 2 nights. Hotel itself is nice, but is little on the tired side in places, but clean.

The lobby area is very pleasant and we didn't use the pool but had a nose around and looked a reasonable size and clean etc.

Room was ok, but does look a little tired in places. Bed was sizable and comfortable.

Had room service one evening which was ok, however the catering for the function we attended was excellent. Breakfast was great too, lots of choices.

Few (admittedly minor) gripes:
Parking.....£4 a day seems ridiculous as there isn't much else nearby that would appear to use it. You could give guests parking and charge others?
Staff were friendly but a bit flaky so weren't really very knowledgable on the functions going on at the hotel or the local area.
Seems expensive for what it is, but I am not sure if it's a sought after location - we were there for a function rather than for convienience for anything local.

All in all, pretty standard Marriott but some of them are a little more inspiring.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    273
    150
    69
    66
See reviews for
157
194
26
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is really well located off junction 24 of the M25. I stayed here for 4 nights whilst running a training course on the premises. Razvan (the Conference Manager) was extremely helpful throughout - thank you. My room was spacious and both the room service and restaurant food was excellent (the burger with goats cheese was delicious). I have a couple of niggles though; the drinks are expensive and there was a mix up at reception when someone else was checked into my room whilst I was still in it! Rather than own up to the error, poor excuses were made (the cleaner said my room was empty, they thought I had checked out !!!) and this made it worse. The manager offered me a free meal which I accepted, but the whole situation was very badly handled by reception.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family (4) recently stayed at the Marriott Waltham Abbey for 8 days as part of a trip for youth soccer players (ages 11-14). The hotel has a very large lobby area that is a great meeting point for groups traveling together. We had very little issues and the front desk personnel (especially Sheryl) was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit far from London (for anyone wanting day excursions there), but a 15 minute taxi (approximately 10 pounds one-way) and a 30 minute tube ride (from the Loughton train station) and you are in central London!

If you have a family of three or four, it is definitely worth requesting/reserving the superior room (no guarantees you will secure it -- which is pretty standard policy across hotels). Alternatively, you may need to book adjoining rooms because the standard rooms are cozy. That said, we spent most of our quality time in the lobby or on the road to explore London and the surrounding area.

Before I arrived, I did some research and read some reviews about the hotel. Parking is definitely a sore point with travellers. There isn't much street parking and the parking fee (in my opinion) is reasonable. The hotel is easy to reach and find - it is right off a turnabout off a major road.

The breakfast buffet is standard and was free due to my status as a frequent traveler with Marriott. The food variety was very good and the service was friendly and attentive.

The hotel has one restaurant and dinner starts relatively late (7pm). However, you can order dinner at the bar in the lobby and there is ample space to sit in the large lobby area and enjoy your meal.

Overall, we have a very nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed her for one night for a wedding on the premises. Hotel itself is nice, as the room was a reasonable size (we managed to fit a cot in quite comfortably), the lobby area is spacious and everything is as clean as you would expect it to be. However, there are a few niggly things:

- It's quite ridiculous that you have to pay £4 per car per 24 hours on top of the room rate. I realise this is to stop people parking here to travel into London, but surely you could get this money back if you are staying at the hotel? Not a huge amount, but it's the principle.

- I was also quite surprised to see a £1 charity donation on my bill when we checked out. Again, not a huge amount but it would have been nice if someone had mentioned this at some stage of the check-in process rather than sneakily add it on (which I doubt many people will complain about and get removed).

- Drinks are expensive.

Room Tip: We were in room 230, right at the end of the second floor corridor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Even numbered rooms face inside as I guess outside facing rooms pick up a lot of road and motorway noise, comfy beds, breakfast usual buffet, dinner good quality food but pricey, bar drinks pricey. Shame no free WiFi, just one hour a day free in the bar area. Pool and gym area big and warm, swimming pool but changing rooms smelly and not so clean.Have to log in your car at check in on a machine so you dont get a parking ticket. Nothing much around, but if you drive a little way some pubs with food about, there's a big Tesco in Waltham Abbey which otherwise is a dead sleepy big village at night.

Room Tip: Even numbers if road noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uktallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

checked in and had booked a suite walking down to the suite and saw lots of trays outside rooms they were there for hours. My wife had a bath and after 20 mins the water was still in the bath, the plug hole was blocked, some one was trying to unblock it for an hour and it couldnt be done so we had a suite where we couldn't use the bath (aren't these things checked everyday)? had a meal in the restaurant my wife had fillet of fish and I had a sirloin steak £29.00 I asked for it rare and got it well done it wasn't all the same thickness. My wifes fish was full of bones, also my wifes dessert was sticky toffee pudding and ice cream, the pudding was inedible and the teaspoon of ice cream was a joke. The room cost me £160.00 and I still didn't have a shower. Would not go there again as they didnt seem to care.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waltham Abbey hotels

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

30 of us had a reunion meal, hot buffet,the starter was fine but the main course was Stroganoff, far too salty or a veggy pasta yes that's it, potatoes or rice, a sweet was just meringue & cream, very unimaginative for a large hotel group, not good value for money at almost £30 a head including coffee, although staff were pleasant, every time someone went to use the toilet they were questioned as to whether they were leaving & had they paid? a beer is over £4 a pint, some of us stayed over, I didn't so can't comment on the rooms but those who were staying said their rooms were nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubaloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
3.8 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
652 reviews
3.7 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
12.9 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
703 reviews
6.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Property: Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing