We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Marriot and we found the Hotel to be very good, We were 6 adults and a baby and had three bedrooms which were all very good and the staff at the Hotel were superb and would go out of there way to help us in everything we asked for and other stuff we were not too sure off. The breakfast was fantastic something for everyone the staff even warmed up food for our little neice. The staff at the hotel made our weekend special and would recomend this hotel just for the staff.The pool area is very big and plenty of space even when it was busy.Its very easy to get to from the M25. We did not eat at th hotel so i cannot comment ,We went to a Turkish restaurant in the city centre and that has just been opened the owner said it only been opened 40 days ago, it was fantastic.We had a 4 course meal for £ 95.00p which i think for the 6 of us is good value for money.The restaurant is quite hard to find because its in the town centre and its all one way street, but if you can find the New Inn pub turn right just after the pub and you can park round the back and walk through a little cut to the restaurant.

  • Disliked — The weather
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Satish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    265
    143
    65
    63
See reviews for
149
188
25
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

This is not Marriott standard. The rooms are okay, and the beds are quite frankly great. However that is where it ends, the general facilities and level of service is far below what one would expect from a Marriott. In fact I have been staying here regularly for more than one year, and things are going downhill fast. The staff is generally poorly trained and poorly motivated. The hotel lounge bar is a disaster service wise, and the quality of breakfast has deteriorated seriously over the last 12 months. This place is okay to stay in, but is nowhere near what you would expect from a Marriott.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The general level of facilities and lack of service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BraddyBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waltham Abbey hotels

london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

We had our wedding here. Not the best place but not the worst.

We had a lot of issues which we tried very hard to have resolved with the hotel. We would not have our wedding here if we could help it, mainly due to poorly trained, poorly informed and mainly poorly led staff. This is not what you want to be worrying about on your wedding day!!

If you have already booked your wedding here and are having problems, dont hesiatate to contact me if you want some advice.

This is what we did :
1) Contact the person resonsible for your event directly and outline your concerns.
2) Find out as much as you cna as early as you can - pictures of past events, numbers of suppliers to discuss what you want directly, aks to speak to the chef or make direct requests. Go and visit the venue at different times to get a view of the place. Shop around at other Marriotts and other hotels in the area, and ask if they will provide servicesthat the Marriott will not - chances are that they will and usually at a lower price!

3) Dont be afraid to make yourself heard - politely of course. If you are heard, call back during the day and ask to speak to the manager and if they are not available, then their manager. Dont be afraid to escalate your concerns - after all you revent is important and you are a customer. If you dont escalalte things then who will? Noone!

3) If you are resigned to having yuo reven ehre and must get on with it then do what we did - work with what you have got. Speak to the chef. Sympathise and ask him what is the best he can prodice for your event - what would he recommend. We were unhappy with brown lettuce and dried out egetables. So he was made aware of the brown lettuce and we promised we would send it all back if there was any on the day. The dried out vegetables we solved by NOT plating them but serving them 'family style' in stainless steel dishes on the table. This kept them fresh and let people choose what they wanted. If they were the wrong vegetables ( which they were ) well - noone knew but us!

4) Ask for what you want. We were unhappy with bland starters, so the chef created some more interesting flavous for us.

5) Cant decide on a dessert - we had half and half, so every second person got lemon tart or profiterole - no arguing, but they could swop of course!

5) Negotiate - we got more things included for free, some reductions here and there and, although the food and drink are an astronomical price, they are not unusual prices for a wedding.

6) Preferential room rates were promised and delivered but my advice is INSIST ona code that you can give your guests so that they can ENSURE that they get thsi rate - this they are entitled to - some of ours still did not get it btu they MUST INSIST as it includes breakfast which is really lovely to have the day of the wedding and the next day also.

The chair covers were really lovely and the resident DJs are fine and generally nice people.
We did out photos in the grounds of the Kings Oak in Epping Forest, having decided this before they built a childrens paly ground in the centre, but I am not sure in hindsight if this was worth the extra hassle. The grounds of the Waltham Abbey are not lovely but there are areas that you can use for photos with the right photographer. - We used a lovely chap called david Court.

Good Luck !
Over all we had a great day but not without lots of tears, arguing ( politely of course) negotiating and compromises.

  • Liked — Nice bedrooms and pool for the price - look up internet for value deals
  • Disliked — Poor staff training and lack of consistency. Not a place for something tha NUST be right ege engagement or wedding . Resaturant over priced generally and inconsistent.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guinnesshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

Stayed at the hotel weekend of 22/24 June. Pupose of stay was a wedding in local Loughton. Hotel is large and well maintained. Room was lovely, huge beds, clean and very comfortable. Stayed there on a room only rate, enquired how much breakfast was and was £14.99 for a continental which i felt was far too expensive. Great location from the M25 and easy to find. Pool/Sauna and Steam was lovely. Didn't use the gym. Def stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price of breakfast!!!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
3.7 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Property: Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Marriott so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing