We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for the grandchildren!”

Lee Valley Park Farms
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lee Valley Park Farms in Waltham Abbey, Essex are just the best kind of fun when it comes to a great value family day out.There are cuddly sheep, giant rabbits, rare breed pigs, long-necked llamas and a loveable meerkat family to meet.You can hit the heights on the giant bouncy pillow, scale the Spider Tower or whizz down the slopes on our fantastic toboggan run. The lttle ones love riding on the combine harvester in Piglet's Paradise.Then take a short trip on a tractor trailer to our working dairy farm, where you'll meet the cows and learn all about life on a real farm.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great excuse to enjoy all the farm has to offer for a grandmother who is a child at heart. The granddaughters loved every minute of the five hours spent there. They fell in love with the Huskies and will be adopting two for their birthday. Fun for all ages with and a healthy enjoyable meal to sustain us. Good value all round.

Thank MarylizHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley Park Farms, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We're so glad that you enjoy bringing your Granddaughters to visit the farms. We aim to provide enough activities and entertainment for a day’s visit so we are pleased to hear you spent so long with us. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cows being milked"
in 22 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 35 reviews
"bouncy pillow"
in 12 reviews
"lee valley"
in 22 reviews
"soft play area"
in 11 reviews
"lovely farm"
in 8 reviews
"sand pit"
in 5 reviews
"hand washing"
in 5 reviews
"climbing frame"
in 4 reviews
"small farm"
in 4 reviews
"working farm"
in 4 reviews
"milking parlour"
in 4 reviews
"stinging nettles"
in 3 reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 5 reviews
"animal feed"
in 3 reviews
"lamb"
in 3 reviews
"rubber rings"
in 3 reviews
Filter

183 - 187 of 206 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

I come to the cafe every summer and holidays when around Lee Valley countryside hiking.

I had read the review about the food being reheated .... No they are not. The baked potatoes are kept in consent heat, not to mention, properly the best jacket potato i had. (unlike other cafe's)

Everything is made from scratch. I came early and show fresh sausage rolls being taken out the oven. Fresh scones (steaming) ready to be sold. Someone complained about the salad saying it was taste less. Well... there are cream salad packets, vinegar, salt n pepper. Do the salad yourself to your own preference.

What a shame to have a negative review on the cafe, considering about the amount of staff that work there. (and they are probably student or very young adults) .They cater to a lot of people and i mean.... a lot in such a small environment.

- I am amazed of how fast paced the workers in the cafe work in a small kitchen and how they keep there sanity. My heart goes out to them. Considering fussy fussy customers.

One little pet peeve. The till is really slow, last years it was faster. And also the coffee machine is slow. Which corresponds to a que building up. The person on the till has to make your drink, write the order down, input it into the computer. Which seems such a long process for them.
They should have one till for coffee and cakes and all that good stuff and hot/cold food on another till. But them again the cafe is small.

Overall Brilliant little cafe !

Thank janisled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Park Farms, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our café, we're pleased to hear you come regularly and enjoy the food. The scones (with clotted cream!) are a favourite among the farm staff! I will pass this on to the café staff; we're very proud of them and I know they will appreciate your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a smashing little place to take your little ones.Visited here with my grandson who is 2 (going on 20) and thoroughly enjoyed the day.Lots to do both inside and out with tractor rides upto holywell farm included where you can see the daily milking of the cows.The toboggan ride is a good idea and there is a wide variety of animals who are all very well kept in cleaned enclosures.I would like to mention the atitude of the staff which was absolutely first class.The young lad who was assisting at the top of the toboggan ride ,although very cold,was very attentive and polite .In another area of the park we came across a young member of staff who was checking all the hens etc and collecting eggs and he was mentoring a young lad with learning disabilities .;The way the member of staff was helping this lad was highly commendable as although he was only young himself ,his work ethic and patience,together with his communication was a real pleasure to witness and is worth commending in an age when youngsters somketimes get a raw deal. A credit to lee valley farms fors enabling this to happen and to provide such a facility.We will definitely return .I would say allow 5 hours for your visit in order to see everything and participate in all the activities .Great value for money although i cant comment on the cafe as we took a picnic.(maybe the indoor picnic area could be bigger)

Thank basildonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Park Farms, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, its great to hear you and your Grandson had such a good time at the farms. We'll pass on your kind comments to our staff; they will be very pleased I’m sure! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Took me a while to find the farm but it was well worth the seach!
Place looks deceptively small from outside. Today is Feb half term and a rare sunny day so place was crowded as expected. Took about 20min queue to get in. I think the entrance can be made slightly bigger for buggies and maybe not through the gift shop because the children tend to run off touching things while waiting to get in. But service at the entry payment desk was very good, very polite staff.

Once inside, I realised it is very hilly, so not good news for buggies. But there are paths made for them so it's still alright. A good variety of things to do: Playground, sandpit, farmyard animals to feed (food is £1.60 per bag, which is quite expensive!), a bouncing pillow (most popular with my lot), the new Santa sleigh which is good in concept but really really slow.

Overall, a really good day, helps because weather was good and we went with lots of good friends. Will definitely be back!

Thank Lynniew100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It's easy to miss this along the Crooked Mile, but worth backtracking and going to for an afternoon or you could stretch it to a whole day, It is well run and has play areas for the kiddies. The indoor softplay centre in the barn was a hit with my 2 year old grandson. This is somewhere to go on a nice English sunny day.

1  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee Valley Park Farms also viewed

 
Waltham Abbey, Essex
Waltham Cross, Greater London
 

Been to Lee Valley Park Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing