We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Nearby Hotels
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$93
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Colchester Feering(Feering)(Great Value!)
$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Le Bouchon Hotel(Heybridge)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Limes(Maldon)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Ivy Hotel(Colchester)
$112
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,742)
Filter reviews
1,742 results
Traveler rating
495
502
351
213
181
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
502
351
213
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa treatmentslazy sundaya la carte menubuffet styleleisure facilitieslight lunchsauna and steam roomlinks courseplay golfgolf breakexecutive roomgreat weekendovernight stayfull body massagebrasseriegymsquash
Filter
Updating list...
1,192 - 1,197 of 1,742 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have just returned from a lazy Sunday Spa overnight break with my daughter and would like to say how much we both enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to ensure everything was to our satisfaction. Food was excellent, good service with smiles on everyone's faces and spa treatments very relaxing. Room was very spacious with views over the golf course and was very peaceful. Very good value for money. My only grumble would be that it did seem chilly in some places of the hotel, especially as we were walking around in our towelling robes! But having said that, we would definitely return again as left feeling totally chilled and uplifted! Well done and thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidaymaker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor following your Sunday Spa overnight visit with your daughter.

We are delighted that you found all aspects of your stay comfortable and enjoyable and that you left the Resort feeling totally chilled and uplifted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in the not too distant future.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of last year and would say that everything was great until we noticed a few problems on entering the room we noticed on the balcony a glass that was full of cigarette butts, which may have been overlooked by housekeeping? We went to have dinner in the restaurant but were told they could not accommodate until 2 hours later, yet on check in we mentioned we would want to eat in the restaurant but reception did not advise we would have to book or they may be full. The next day we went down for breakfast, the lady on the desk seemed very rushed and unorganised. We were sat down at a table that was not set up and we had to ask for items such as tea spoons and milk. When we were served tea it was luke warm and undrinkable, when we went up to the buffet, some items such as the scrambled eggs also were luke warm. We most definitely did not experience a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hezz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments following your December visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes.

I note that on check-in you were not offered the opportunity to book dinner in the restaurant, only later to find that you could not be accommodated at your preferred time and to impact this further, I was disappointed to note that your breakfast experience was not to your expectations.

May we thank you for taking the time to highlight these matters, as it is only by receiving constructive comments that we can strive to improve the service and product that we offer our valued guests.

I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in the future.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Enjoyed our stay very much with my two boys, lots of free activities which is great for boys to burn off all their energy, swimming pool was so lovely and warm, room was very comfortable, service is fantastic and breakfast is worth every penny - a good variety of cooked and healthy fresh food. Can manage without internet so no idea about that. The scenery is beautiful around you and from your room, lots of free parking. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: You can ask for a quiet room away from families.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and although your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes was in August 2013, it is very kind of you to comment so positively on that particular visit and award us five-stars too.

We are very pleased that your family availed themselves to the hotel's extensive facilities and your sons thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Thank you again for your wonderful review, we really do appreciate our guests'’ feedback.

Looking forward to seeing you all again very soon hopefully. With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Myself and my three daughters visited this spa on a Saturday. Hotel is very impressive and clean. On arrival at the spa we were welcomed by a friendly receptionist who explained everything to us and then we had complimentary tea or coffee. The spa has a lovely, comfortable relaxation room. The changing room (unisex even though this isn't made clear) just has lockers in it and a few changing cubicles. We found it quite surprising that a spa would not have showers. The only showers were in the swimming pool area at the other side of the hotel. These were a little grubby and cramped. This does rather spoil the experience. The pool was a good temperature and steam/sauna rooms nice. I had a full body massage with exfoliation, mini facial and head massage. The treatment was really enjoyable and the therapist, Rachael, was very professional. The only disappointment with this was when I was taken to shower off the exfoliator, the shower was awful! The cubicle had black mould all round it, dirty marks and was generally shabby. Not like you would expect to have to use in a spa at all. When we visited the spa/pool were not at all busy. I imagine that the shower area of pool would be very cramped when busy. We had a light lunch included in our spa day and this was in a lovely restaurant which served buffet hot/cold food. We all enjoyed our lunch. Would recommend this spa just please, sort the showers out!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edies-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you commenting on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and we appreciate your candid feedback and will share your comments with the appropriate managers, so that going forwards improvements are put in place.

I am pleased that you found the relaxation room a comfortable, lovely space and that you all enjoyed your buffet lunch.

Furthermore, we are delighted that you would recommend Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and look forwards to seeing you in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at the Crowne recently as a birthday treat and overall had a very nice time. The only downside was the service in the restaurant, having been shown to our table, we then had to wait ages for a waiter and ended up having to ask if we could order some drinks. Bread rolls, kept coming passed our table, but we were never offered one. Having had to chase up where our drinks where, we then had to chase up the waiter to order our meal, three starters were ordered and one from the buffet menu. Two starters turned up, but unfortunately we again had to ask where the third starter was !!! This did rather spoil things. Secondly was very disappointed to learn that you had to pay for wifi !! As this hotel has meeting rooms, I would assume it caters for the business traveller and basic free wifi should be available for all guests. Having said all that, I would return as the room and hotel are very nice and enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and note the challenges you refer to and I can confirm that your feedback has already been passed to our Food & Beverage Manager, Please accept our sincere apology for this unusual lapse in our normally high standard of service delivery.

WIFI is complimentary for first 30 minutes however, there are additional options depending on time and speed of internet connection required. In July 2013, the Internet became comp for gold/platinum members. However, as of 1st January, 2014, WIFI became complimentary for all IHG Reward Club Members.

Despite the issues you have highlighted, I was delighted to note that you would return in the future and therefore, we hope to see you soon.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews