We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf, shame about the hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at this resort for a golfing break. Whilst the golf was good, the restaurant in the hotel was terrible. The food and service on one evening was so bad that the Manager had to put in a personal appearance the following morning to apologise to eveyone, and gave us all a glass of bucks fizz! Whoopee!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 170LindaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAngusG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear 170LindaG

Following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes recently, I am pleased that you enjoyed the golf throughout your stay.

However, it is disappointing to note that your dining experience did not meet your expectations on one evening and we offer our further apologies. 170LindaG, I can assure you that this is not our normal standard and hopefully, we can look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wow - what a super week - room service brilliant, trays removed instantly, towels nice and big, food lovely and hot - bar staff excellent, especially Erika, I think I love her, and her supervisor Martin is such a nice guy.

Room Tip: 242 - This is a great suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_G069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAngusG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Big-G069

We are delighted that your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes made such an impression on your and thank you for commenting positively on many aspects of your stay.

Our Bar staff, Erika and Martin, will be thrilled that they received a special mention too.

Thank you again Big-G069. Looking forward to seeing you again.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My daughter and I had a groupon spa day here. I have been to this resort over the past 15 years and now that Crowne Plaza has taken over there is quite a difference in staff and procedures. I've been to the pool before and enjoyed the experience of the sauna and steam room. I've had a facial here before but the difference this time in the quality of the facial and body wrap is night and day. I've been to several spa's in the UK and in the US and I can assure you that the treatment I had from DALIA was the best I've ever experienced. Last time I had a facial here it was the beautician's first job. This visit all the staff were all older and more experienced. I didn't see anyone who appeared to be straight from beauty school. Whilst the treatment room was fine I had to leave my room and cross the corridor to take a shower. My daughter's treatment room had an en suite shower. The shower I had to step into was very steamy. I don't think that the fan was working. Also the grout between the tiles was black and looked dreadful. The shower tray was chipped and had several raised black blobs. that and the fact that there were several dirty mits from previous users on the shower made for an unpleasant experience to end the lovely treatment. I know I had to wash off black mud which may affect the grout but surely management could ensure that this was treated and made to look much more appealing. We then went downstairs to have lunch. The staff were very attentive but it took 40 minutes for us to receive our soup. When it did arrive it had a skin on the top and was cold. The staff member was once again very attentive and waiting in the kitchen until the hot soup was ready. She was let down by the kitchen on this occasion. I've attended several functions here in the past and rarely felt they were value for money. Perhaps this will change with the new management. However, there are issues for them to attend to. Overall the spa and waiting staff were excellent, The treatment by DALIA was exceptional. The shower and cold soup spoiled what should have been a lovely day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tappy Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAngusG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Tappy Feet

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. I was delighted to read that you are a loyal guest and have been visiting for some 15 years and we truly thank you for your continued support.

Our Spa Manager will be delighted to read your fantastic comments about your spa experience and particularly mentioning Dalia, who carried out your treatments. However, we do take on board your additional constructive feedback with regard to your spa experience.

Your comments about lunch are noted and please accept our apologies that you received cold soup, coupled with a delay also. These comments have already been shared with the Food & Beverage team.

Dear Tappy Feet, we look forward to your continued patronage and again thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from a spa day at this hotel. Thoroughly enjoyable. Friendly staff, good facilities. Liked the feel of the hotel in general and would consider returning for an overnight stay. Greeted by friendly, helpful spa receptionist. Provided with fluffy gowns, slippers and towel. Nice changing room.Took advantage of complimentary tea/coffee ("available until 12"). Was shown the route downstairs to the pool area. Was very quiet during our visit. Shallow, which may not suit serious swimmers. Sauna and steam room adequate. As mentioned by someone else, had to walk through reception in gown to bar for lunch, not ideal. Bar area in spa was closed all day. Not sure if it is permanently closed. Reasonable lunch menu. Treatments were lovely and staff friendly and knowledgeable. Relaxation room was a little different but was a nice extra. After all the detoxing decided to have afternoon tea. We waited 20 minutes but nothing arrived so had to chase them and apparently the order had not been processed but it arrived as soon as I chased it. Never seen so many cakes and the scones jam and cream were to die for. Had a walk around the resort before leaving for home. A lovely location and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAngusG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Jewels R

Thank you for choosing our Resort as your Spa destination and I am delighted to read that you had a great time and we thank your most favourable comments. Our Afternoon Tea is a very popular choice for our guests and we always receive complimentary comments.

Jewels R, we are looking forward to seeing you again very soon at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went to hotel for a break from very difficult circumstances.
This is just a note to compliment each member of your staff who were very understanding and exceptionally helpful whenever possible. We had such a relaxing break in this beautiful surrounding that health permitting we are already looking forward to taking another break when time permits.

I was also impressed that some of the staff even recognized us when I came to your hotel with my family approximately one year ago. One can see that everyone in this hotel organization from the cleaning operative to manager have been very well trained in providing excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Excecutive rooms are really comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank this2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAngusG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear This2002

It was very kind of you to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay in May and finding the time to comment on your visit. We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and our staff were not only understanding towards you, but recognised you from a previous visit.

I am pleased that all members of staff and management made a positive impression on you.

With our kindest regards to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Greeted by polite receptionist who provided us with robes, towel and slippers. complementary coffee was welcome. Spa sprawling, Pool was downstairs, for lunch we had to walk through the main reception in our robes, a little uncomfortable. The swimming pool, whilst lovely contained a number of children - playing catch, splashing -etc. More like a family pool than a spa pool. One of the group overheard about a relaxation room which we found, was adequate although not particularly warm. Changing room inadequate - bins containing robes and towels overflowing, empty cups all over the place and curtains in mixed sex changing are disconcertingly see through!!! Treatments however were lovely. I don't think I will return here unless big changes are made. I would also like to add that the food (whilst lovely) was very expensive. We had to move from an outside table as being pestered by wasps, Still pestered by wasps indoors but not so many.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAngusG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear JSR33

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and we note the challenges you have detailed, which have already been passed to the Spa Manager and Country Club Manager and where appropriate they will correct and improve.

Although the changing rooms in the spa are mixed; there are separate male and female changing rooms on the ground floor. The matter of wasps outside the bar was brought to our attention and our facilities team were tasked immediately and resolved this.

We do hope that you will reconsider returning in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Too many silly mistakes spoilt what is potentially a great venue. Four star facilities but a two star experience.
We stayed for three nights as part of a golf package. On the positive side, the golf was good. The lakes course is the better if the two and the one that is well looked after. The links course is less well maintained but overall they are suitable for a mixed level if handicaps.
The hotel was a different experience. The infrastructure and facilities deserve the four star status but a lack of attention to detail destroyed any goodwill earned by the venue.
On arrival the booking details and rates were incorrect.
One of the rooms allocated to our group was populated by builders and decorators a fact that had not been passed on to reception. Not a problem in itself, although a missed opportunity for delighting the customer. Staff could have apologised and possibly upgraded but the guests had to walk back to reception, a fair way, to be allocated another room. It would gave taken little effort for staff to take a new key to the guests. Still no big deal but when the guests went to breakfast and were told that they had to pay as the room details had not been transferred then it became frustrating. This was a system error but to have the same issue on following days demonstrated poor management.
Many of the individual staff members tried to give good service but seemed to be hampered by lack of resources and a systemic problem of poor management. The manner in which management spoke to staff in public was appalling.
There were further issues at dinner suggesting that there is poor coordination between shifts and departments.
The food was acceptable but lack of supervision and help made it very much self-service; the guests being left to find their own way through the buffet. Seating arrangements were haphazard and showed little thought to the needs of the guests.
It would not take much to make this a good experience but management must pay more attention to their customers. It's not cheap and therefore a good level if service is a reasonable expectation.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheepsMKtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAngusG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear SheepsMKtoo

Thank you for reviewing so candidly, your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges that you faced during your visit and I can assure you that all the points you have raised have been shared with the relevant managers so that going forward, remedial action and training can be undertaken.

Thank you once more for taking the time to share your constructive comments and we are sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
573 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
906 reviews
17.4 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#1 of 3 in Maldon
195 reviews
9 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range: $77 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing