We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable 3 Nights...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pebbles Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, to rest and catch up on our jet lag from the USA, before catching a cruise out of Harwich. We coordinated in advance to check in at 1100. No problem. We got a suite with a view and had a mellow stay. Comfortable large room (#8) with desk area; and an enclosed balcony (included a bistro table and a lounger) that opened to the seafront. Breakfasts were quite adequate, and Nick and Keri supplied us with some ice cubes for our Happy Hour G&T's. For exercise, we walked the neighborhood streets--nice homes and gardens! We found excellent restaurants for dinner (within 5-10 minutes drive) and went to the market for picnic lunch supplies. Free WIFI worked well. Free street parking was never a problem. We did a few driving trips to other areas. The whole property, to include the nice front gardens, was kept super clean. The only nitnoy was the carpet in our room was rather worn/stained.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pebbles190, Owner at Pebbles Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks for your time to write a lovely review for us here at Pebbles. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Sorry you experienced a problem in the room regarding the carpet. The carpet is relatively new so we have noted your comment and since your stay we have rectified the problem. We do regularly clean all of our carpets and change them when needed.
Hope you had a lovely cruise.
Thanks again for your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 351 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very clean & tidy, owner is very helpful & friendly. We enjoyed our time here very much & will stay here again. Breakfast was very good with a choice of cerials tea coffe etc

Our room had a superb view of the Thames estuary & Kent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingRoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here for the night whilst working away and would recommend to others. The rooms are of a decent size and very clean. A table and chairs in the room is always useful when working away, it saves doing all the paperwork on the bed! The breakfast was okay, could probably have been slightly better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What can i say Pebbles is a must while visiting Southend. Room was beautiful spotless Keri and Nick are lovely hosts. Just a short stroll to center of Southend ........ Rooms are beautifuly decorated to high standards breakfast lovely. Will stay here all the time while in Southend lovely break away with the hubby.

Room Tip: We had the suite with balcony great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Keri & Nick make you feel welcome. In fact we wanted to drop our bags off early & arrived around midday & they let us actually have access to our room at no extra cost. It's about a 20/30 mins walk into Central Southend but Southend East Station not far & number 9 bus is quite regular. Would stay here again if we ever return to the area. Breakfast is more than adequate & they had vegetarian sausages, which were appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

my sister and i stayed here for 5 days,only sad we dint have longer!! Keri,and Nick are perfect hosts,also Dawn ,the whole house is spotless,we had a twinned room and was very spacous,the rooms are beautifully decorated ,and short walk along the promenade takes you into the town center,good tranport links to Leigh on sea ,wonderful restaurants close by,breakfast has lots of choices to suit everyones taste,fruit juices,fresh fruit,cereals,eggs cooked to your choice,and a cooked breakfast my wee sis is a vegetarian and her needs was also met,kept up the good work xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having previously stayed in Travelodge in Southend we learned our lesson and looked for somewhere a bit more upmarket - it cost us an extra £30.00 per night, but was worth every penny!

Our room (number 10) was lovely and clean. It was a little on the small side, but that wasn't a problem as all we were using it for was a base to get ready whilst attending a family wedding. Breakfast was included in the rate we paid which was cooked to order and lovely both mornings. Our room was so quiet, we had no disturbance from outside or other guests, will definitely recommend it and will be staying next time we're down.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hev_Sparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,711 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebbles Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebbles Guest House

Address: 190 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $91 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pebbles Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pebbles Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pebbles Guest House Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Pebbles Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing