We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pebbles Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had wonderful stay here in a very sunny southend . Very warm welcome and room was spotless. Breakfast was wonderful , lovely waitresses , would definitely recommend and would stay again , excellent value for money .

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pebbles190, Owner at Pebbles Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Just wanted to say thanks for writing the review for us. It's lovely to read such lovely comments.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 351 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful guest house with great views of sea front. Set away from all the hustle and bustle of main attractions but only a few minutes walk away to still enjoy a stroll down to the Southend strip. Kerry and Nick who run the guest house are friendly and welcoming and have done a fantastic job in the decor and facilities offered in their rooms. Everything is very clean and the breakfast room is light and very quaint with a full English breakfast and more.
Thank you Pebbles.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the best guest house in southend -on -sea we have stayed at, My husband booked this for a family fun break and it was definetly that. From checking in at Pebbles guest house to leaving it was amazing. Nick and his wife were excellent hosts, nothing was to much trouble, The quality and service was better than some 4 star hotels we have been, The decor was beautiful ,elegantly furnished. They had thought of everything right down to the quality biscuits and sundries. Our rooms , we had booked four were all spotless, and all well thought out. My husband and i had the sea view room on the front which was heaven . As i work in the food industry i am fussy about my food , the breakfast was excellent all freshly cooked . We will definetly be going back to Pebbles guest house Whenever we are in Southend-On Sea - Charlotte and Bill Clark Bath England

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billcharclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pebbles190, Owner at Pebbles Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thanks Charlotte and Bill for your kind and lovely comments about Pebbles.
We are so glad you felt welcomed, we enjoy running Pebbles and always endeavour to keep to our high standards.
We greatly appreciate your input.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Pebbles in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the best. My wife Alison, eldest daughter Claire and mother in law went to see a show at the Cliffs pavilion and I was the chaffuer for the evening. I went off for a curry with my brother in law and nephew. Where to stay? Well the Pebbles Guest House was recommended to me so I booked three rooms. Fantastic. Nick and Kerry the patrons showed us to our rooms and all of us were stunned by the high level of decor, furniture and luxury that greeted us. Mother in law's bed and duvet was so big we thought we might loose her in it and not find her in the morning. Claire's room was equally big.
Our room was on the front overlooking the beach and water and as the tide was coming in on a very calm and serene evening it made for a great start of the stay.
Big windows out onto the balcony with table and chairs made for a good place to have a glass of wine and in the morning, a beautiful sunny morning at that, a nice cup of tea. Plenty of tea and coffee supplied. before a super full english breakfast in the breakfast room. All rooms were well appointed and lit carefully and the bathrooms perfectly clean and supplied with big towels and soaps. Telly and wifi all included. So all in all it's got to be the best. Go there and you'll agree.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helishot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pebbles190, Owner at Pebbles Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

So pleased you and your family had a lovely stay with us at Pebbles.
We endeavour to create a warm, friendly approach to all our guests when entering Pebbles.
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review for us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recenty stayed at Pebbles and found the whole experience wonderful. On arrival we were greeted very warmly by Nick, and shown to our room, which was a lovely sea view room, the table and seating by the window was a great idea.
The room was spotless, clean and very tastefully decorated. I am normally quite picky about hotel bathrooms but this one i could quite easily have picked up and put in my own home....small but very clean.
We used the comprensive local guide to choose our evening meal......The Halfway House, we thoroughly recommend this for service and delicious food....and only a very short walk away, perfect on a cold snowy March night.
The full english breakfast was just right, the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We will definately be coming back to Pebbles again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pebbles190, Owner at Pebbles Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Glad you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Pebbles.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We are locals, but chose to enjoy a night away. Our twin room was more than ample, as was the en-suite, and the thickness of the walls meant there was no indication that the Guest House was fully occupied. After a restful sleep, we enjoyed the full breakfast, which we said, was better than some hotels we have stayed in. Spotless room, delicious food, very friendly staff, we'll be returning for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pebbles190, Owner at Pebbles Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

It's lovely that you had chosen Pebbles for your stay. Glad you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I chose to stay at Pebbles Guest House following the positive reviews I saw on Tripadvisor. I stayed in a small single room (impressive use of space) facing the sea front which was spotless. The full English breakfasts served were lovely and served by friendly staff. All in all, a very nice guest house with excellent professional service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bajanqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pebbles190, Owner at Pebbles Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thanks for your stay with us here at pebbles and thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review.
We take pride in running a successfuly business and it's so nice that we can accomplish this at Pebbles Guest House. Look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
653 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
542 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
804 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebbles Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebbles Guest House

Address: 190 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $90 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pebbles Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Pebbles Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pebbles Guest House Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Pebbles Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing