We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Frankie & Benny's - Southend-On-Sea
Ranked #355 of 665 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: American Italian Restaurant & Bar. Families Welcome. Book a table and celebrate your birthday with us!
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've been to other Frankie and Bennys which are much nicer. This one is very dated in comparison. Service was incredibly slow, they forgot orders and my dessert was cremated. On the plus side, they offered us money off and a free beverage for our complaint. It was very cheap but still not worth the money. It is much better value and service to go to the Slug and Lettuce just down the road.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tab C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    64
    35
    39
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Quality Assured”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Another great meal at one of my favourite pop in restaurants. No pomp and ceremony, no booking just a great atmosphere and comfort food. Well done.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nothing going for it”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Called in on Sunday evening in early January. Obviously not a busy time. I was dining alone, so just wanted something decent, but I have to say the food starter of potato skins and a main of a burger - which I didn't think they could get wrong - was all very poor.

The staff tried reasonably well, were friendly etc, but the food - very poor. I won't be going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We go out every xmas eve as a family for breakfast and thought we would try F&B. Glad we did, really quick service, good food and nice people.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank stacey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“OMG this place needs to either shut or start again”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Frankie and Bennys is a brand that is tired and in need of a change. The only delight of this restaurant is the staff who merrily go about their business seemingly unaware that the place is crap. The food is poor even McDonalds can serve a better burger with fresher produce. And please stop the annoying Italian lesson whilst you are in the loo. Awful awful !!! Please shut and start again

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1967d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Benny's - Southend-On-Sea also viewed

 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's - Southend-On-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing