We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but let down slightly by Strawberry Fields”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel but let down slightly by Strawberry Fields”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights this week and going back again next week for work reasons. The hotel itself is what you would expect from a Premier Inn. I had a double room and it was reasonably clean and tidy. Nice big flat screen TV which is a nice touch. I did notice a few marks on the sofa in the room but probably me nit picking. It's a shame that some guests staying in hotels don't have more consideration for others i.e. coming in around midnight and banging their doors, but this is not the hotels fault so not blaming them. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. My only really negative comment would be the Strawberry Field (Tabletable) restaurant which is located on the side of the hotel. I included a meal deal with my stay so got breakfast and evening meal included. On my first morning I decided to try the cooked breakfast and have to say it was most disappointing. All of it was fairly tasteless. I stuck to cereals and/or toast for the remainder of my stay which was all ok. The evening meals were of a reasonable standard. A slight word of caution, when you stay on a meal deal you only get a limited choice of starters, mains and dessert. Overall the evening meals were acceptable, not great but also not too bad. So overall I would say the hotel is good but just let down by the standard of food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krbrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    199
    56
    12
    15
See reviews for
207
177
37
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

very friendly staff, clean, good quality rooms had the best night sleep here,would definately recommend this hotel. Close to airport and shops, the Inn next door had good food and free Wifi which Premier should've provided. Unfortunately you had to pay only got 30mins free

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40AngelaP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

clean freindly and well worth the money ......pub pretty good too nice food polite staff .....although next to the airport noise was not a problem ....supermarket over the road which is handy 5 stars .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Room very clean - newly refurbished. We had room on ground floor which we thought would be noisy but it wasn't. I suppose it depends on who is in that night. There were a couple of stag parties but these were not a problem.
Reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
We have stayed here several times before and would not hesitiate to do so again.
Breakfast in Strawberry Fields next door was plentiful but they do need a decent breakfast cook
who knows how to fry an egg. Don't let that put you off, just tell them that you do not want undercooked eggs. The waiting staff were excellent and I am sure that the problem was probably mine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeno-martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is as basic as they come.
Newly refurbished rooms, which are spotless but nothing else.
Great location for the airport if flying next day.
If looking for food, then the restaurant next door is the only option, or tesco across the road.
I was staying for business, as office close by.
If staying for a few nights, would pick a hotel further away to enjoy the the normal hotel comforts

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Superb Hotel. Very, very comfortable, wonerful staff but if you take your lunch at the Strawberry Fields Pub which adjoins the Hotel, order your food on ARRIVAL ( I ordered three bar snacks at 1238hrs and was served at 1345hrs with COLD FOOD inspite of chasing up my order TWICE with the Duty Manager and being told " it is just being plated up as we speak") The service in the evening by comparison is fantastic. Slick, friendly waiting staff.Excellent food choice and cooking standards and totally different from our lunchtime experience. The Duty Manager at LUNCHTIME could not organise a ++++ ++ in a brewery!!

Room Tip: Inspite of the proximity to Southend Airport we did not hear any aircraft noise at all so do not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baranda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here many times for corporate reasons and always been happy. I stayed here on Saturday for exactly the same reason as before but the rude, aggressive bar manager shut the bar at 11 pm instead of the usual 12 o'clock. He clearly had no manners and left the 7 of us very unhappy. I know our manager will be looking elsewhere which is a shame because premier inn is usually really good

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
747 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
590 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Address: Princes Avenue | Thanet Grange, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6GB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catch a flight, head to Adventure Island or grab an ice-cream in Southend-on-Sea, just 15 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Hotel Southend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing