We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Southend-on-Sea

“Lovely food, slow drinks service”

Genting Casino Westcliff
Ranked #160 of 808 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Thames Estuary, Genting Club Westcliff is one of the leading social and event destinations in Essex. Overlooking the sea, we offer the perfect place for you to relax and escape from the routine of everyday life. We recently had a massive refurbishment, so you can now come and enjoy a luxurious late night bar, serving the very best cocktails, wine, beer and champagne. Also our beautiful stylish restaurant serving not only quality food but quality service, the very best entertainment and of cause the casino which for all of those who want to learn the basics of gambling, we will have a ‘learn to play’ station. We also have a new and beautiful private function suite coming to you soon which will have its own bar, dance floor and stage for larger parties who wish to have a more exclusive event or dinner party.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited on a Wednesday evening, when the whole place was very quiet. Bar staff were very nice, however it took an absolute age for them to make cocktails. The drinks were nice when they arrived, but preparation took far too long. Waiting staff in the restaurant were polite and efficient, and keen to point out the best deal that we could get for food and wine, taking into account the offer on at the time, and the vouchers that we had. This was much appreciated. We all had the Thai red curry, which was full of flavour. House wine was decent too.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GinaLoui5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 181 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2019 via mobile

Family get together for an early Christmas lunch. Food was excellent, apart from the brussel sprouts being a bit too al dente! Service was great. But best of all was the singer - Becky Deller. She smashed it for me. Brilliant set of songs for a lovely afternoon

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Sherpa478867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

On a sudden whim a friend of mine and I popped in to Westcliff Genting casino on Friday night after dinner at Toulouse a short walk away.

It was my first time at the casino though I’ve lived in Southend for years.

My friend and I loved the decor and seating areas really easy to chat and have a drink sitting on comfy chairs.

The live music was an unexpected treat. The singer had a lovely voice.

We had several cocktails and the were so reasonable £7.50 each. I thought it was super. And my friend lives in london she was impressed as cocktails in London are usually double the price.

The Dj put a fab range of song on. All in all a wonderful night out. It felt comfortable to be there. I will definitely go back again. Would like to try the food next time.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank nisha619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2019

As not getting out much, that little special occasions to go to the casino felt like a great idea.
On arrival, staff friendly , being November thought it might be quiet , we were wrong. Restaurant full, the booths had been pre booked for birthday parties.
Just being the two of us , we just sat at the bar, the atmosphere built up to a good vibe.
Spoke tothe lady on the restaurant desk, she could fit us in around 9.30pm, thought it was too late, but having a couple of drinks a game of roulette, the time flew.
Sat at 9.15 was expecting the food to come out a little blaze, (chefs having a hard night).
Food came out spot on, compliments, medium rare steaks, fresh veg, excellent.
Band came on what an atmosphere for the rest of the night.
Thank you for an enjoyable evening

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Picknikbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GentingClubWestcliff, Public Relations Manager at Genting Casino Westcliff, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2019

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2019 via mobile

First time visit for Sunday lunch. Was extremely happy with both the service & food.
Beautiful panoramic views of the estuary.
Great value for money.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank casinosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GentingClubWestcliff, Public Relations Manager at Genting Casino Westcliff, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2019

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genting Casino Westcliff also viewed

 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Genting Casino Westcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing