We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend stay with my husband and 4 year old daughter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent weekend stay with my husband and 4 year old daughter”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have just come back from a family weekend and I can honestly say that we have had the most wonderful stay at this hotel, the place wasn't hard to find, we were able to park our car easily, the staff are so welcoming, polite, the customer service is faultless, the hotel manager Bertie really makes you feel as if you are at home, nothing is too much. The breakfast is wonderful, my husband never eats breakfast in hotels never but to my surprise he had breakfast the first day and never looked back. He was looking forward to having breakfast every single day because it was so good. The place is close to the beach, pier & adventure park and they also offer half price tickets to the adventure park. We will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uassamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    90
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
54
105
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

After trying a little while to find the Guesthouse I finally found it. Very nice looking place and the people there were very nice. It is very old fashioned looking very small as I was staying in the single room, but it felt very homely and I would go there again with my partner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have just had two nights at this delightful hotel. The owner and staff were all genuinely friendly and efficient and never without a smile. Our room was a nice size and well equipped with the usual iron and board, hair dryer, fridge and toiletries etc. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean, but a little dated ie: avocado suite, other than that perfect for our needs. Breakfast was buffet style and was replenished continuously. Eggs were cooked to order. There was also cereal, toast etc. Anything else required and you only had to ask. I must say that the breakfast was delicious and compared with many five star hotels we have stayed in. This is a lovely,cozy, friendly hotel and I can easily recommend it. It also has the benefit of a car park too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here at the end of June for one night so that we could attend my son’s University festival of street theatre over that weekend. We had arrived in Southend without having made a booking so were thankful that we were able to ring up on the hoof and find there were rooms available on such short notice. On calling, we were told to pop along and have a look at several of the available apartments. We stayed in the ground floor apartment across the road and were pleased with condition, size and general cleanliness. The accommodation on offer consisted of the whole of the ground floor including; livingroom, double bedroom, fully equipped kitchen and shower room – plus breakfast, for the price of a standard room. Facilities also included TV and internet. There were a few minor niggles but these were no more than things like there not being a fresh sponge in the bathroom, fridge could have been cleaner and one of the sofas needed replacing, but these were minor annoyances more than anything and didn’t distract from our pleasant and comfortable stay at the Ilfracome. The owners and staff were so welcoming and keen to see to our needs that this attitude made up for the minor gripes mentioned earlier. The breakfast room was cosy, clean and presented a welcoming atmosphere to start to the day. Breakfast it self was self-serve and included both full English as well as a good stock of cereals, fruits and juices. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Probably choose an upper floor appartment as staying on the ground floor means you hear every clompi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubbLC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Twice we have stayed at this hotel this year was our 56 th wedding anniversary and we decided to stay here again ,its very comfortable and the food is first class and the staff are very friendly, we will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I had to attend a wedding in Southend and we did some research and found this delightful gem. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly young man who could not do enough for us. The meals were superb and plenty of it, rooms were clean and spacious. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants a clean, family run hotel with lots of character. The football was an added bonus for my husband!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Luckily we were only booked in for one night! We had a friendly greeting on arrival and were made to feel welcome but unfortunately the positives ended there.
The room was more cramped than it needed to be as a single bed had been positioned by the door, meaning it only opened half way ( quite a squeeze getting in with your luggage). Overall the room looked very tired and dated and was dirty. Stains on the chair and curtains also sticky patches on the bed side table and what seemed to be melted chocolate in the carpet! But all this was nothing compared to the bathroom. Dirty tiles , toilet, bath, sink and mirror along with half used toiletries, just shocking! I could go on and on but I really don't want to dwell on it anymore. Please for your own enjoyment Stay Away!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
744 reviews
1.6 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe House Hotel

Property: Ilfracombe House Hotel
Address: 9-13 Wilson Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilfracombe House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'AA' Rated 4-Star Guest House which combines spacious and comfortable accommodation with a prime location close to Cliffs Pavilion Theatre and Southend's Adventure Island Funfair Park. • 20 en-suite Bedrooms & 6 fully serviced Apartment Suites • Walking distance to High Street, Cliffs Pavilion & Seafront • Free Car Parking • Free Wi-Fi • Free Full English Breakfast • SKY SPORTS in all Rooms & Bar • Fully Licensed Bar & Restaurant • Less than 7 minutes drive from Southend Airport • 1/2 Price Wristbands to Adventure Island Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ilfracombe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Hotel Southend On Sea
Ilfracombe House Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing