We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

this is one of the best hotels that I have stayed in,the prices are very reasonable,the service and friendliness is out of this world.the rooms are to top quality and very clean.i have been staying at this hotel for 4 years and I will continue going back .....keep up the good work thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed just one night when going to concert at thr cliffs pavilion to see Texas(who were great!) Had room 19-quiet room,decent beds and bathroom. Breakfast served up till 11am_bonus! good coffee and selection of food. Staff all pleasent and polite. Ideal for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise635679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. On arrival we were asked to pay the bill there and then, which is unusual as you don't usually pay until you leave. The room was a bit cramped but was clean. Started to make a cup of tea and use the cartons of milk and noticed that they were out of date so had to go and ask for more. Only one bath towel so had to go and ask for another towel. Plenty for breakfast - even had your own toaster on the table. Went out for the day and came back to find that the bed had not been made and also only left with one mug, so had to go and ask for another mug. Its a shame that these things were not picked up.

Room Tip: Not sure what the other rooms were like but we had a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harri015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three nights, would have moved if another hotel was available. The double room we were allocated was small and cramped, the blind in the bathroom was broken and could not be rolled up so it stayed down, it was also covered in paint. The sink in the bathroom had a large crack and two large holes in it, they had attempted to conceal the holes with white silicon but this was now dirty and unhygienic. The shower was awful, with a dirty shower curtain that wasn't attached to the rail.

The furniture in the bedroom was old, with one of the chairs having a very unpleasant stain on the seat. The two mugs in the room were very dirty and smelt of bleach.

For the price they charge I wonder how they ever get anyone returning, I know we never will.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiloYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago. It was quiet when I arrived about 7.45pm. It had been a really long day but the smile from the receptionist made it better instantly. This set the tone for my overnight stay. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. I phoned to see if they would rustle me up a meal about 15 mins before they were due to stop serving...no problem. The meal was good and they put the footy on for me on a TV opposite my table. I appreciated this, especially as Spurs won that night :-)

Breakfast is a buffet affair but all hot and reasonable quality. It was nice having my own personal toaster as I had a table in the corner!

Thanks to the owner and his brilliant staff for making me feel special.

I forgot my phone charger the next morning after I'd left but phoned them mid-morning to let them know. Whilst I was on the phone, someone checked immediately rather than making me wait. Again a measure of the service. I was able to pop in later and collect it from the front desk.

I would not hesitate to return here again and when I next visit Southend I'll actually be checking the reservations here first.

Thanks again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Chapperz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The owners are very accommodating and friendly types - was so kind as to make me toast and I even got a free upgrade from a single room to a two bed room! Was unnecessary but appreciated the extra space.

Cleanliness of the room itself was okay. Found a dead bee/wasp in the bathtub, and an empty bottle of vodka in the cupboards. A little noisy at night from all the creaking but still manageable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 588jonathank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my family stayed there for a week in one of their apartments,the beds were broken, blinds kept coming off in the lounge, no constant hot water so showering was impossible, so had to have Luke warm baths, previous guests rubbish was still evident so not cleaned properly, though one thing I can say in their favor is that breakfast was nice

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psalia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe House Hotel

Address: 9-13 Wilson Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $85 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilfracombe House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'AA' Rated 4-Star Guest House which combines spacious and comfortable accommodation with a prime location close to Cliffs Pavilion Theatre and Southend's Adventure Island Funfair Park. • 20 en-suite Bedrooms & 6 fully serviced Apartment Suites • Walking distance to High Street, Cliffs Pavilion & Seafront • Free Car Parking • Free Wi-Fi • Free Full English Breakfast • SKY SPORTS in all Rooms & Bar • Fully Licensed Bar & Restaurant • Less than 7 minutes drive from Southend Airport • 1/2 Price Wristbands to Adventure Island Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilfracombe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Hotel Southend On Sea
Ilfracombe House Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing