We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed one night, August 17, 2013. Probably have given the hotel a pretty good review but for the fact there was no hot water for a shower on Sunday morning (stone cold - not even tepid) - pretty unforgivable. Skipped breakfast to borrow my daughter's shower in her new flat (reason for stay). I will need an overnight stay in Southend reasonably often over the next 2 years but it won't be at the Ilfracombe House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMC093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 292 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for one night yesterday following a night out for a friends birthday.. Lovely walk down he seafront.. Nor far to get o everything. Stayed in a standard room, which was small but had all that was required Fo a comfortable stay. Breakfast was lovely buffet style. Would return if I need somewhere in southend to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KatJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When phoning to book the gentleman had to move a couple of bookings around to accomadate us so we were a little concerned about what type of room we would get. We need not have worried as room was lovely, overlooked back of hotel but was quiet light and airy. Ensuite bathroom had bath with shower over and was immaculate. Room had a fan which was an added bonus as even though our visit was in june in was rather. The full english buffet breakfast was lovely, piping hot and plenty of choice. The staff were lovely and very friendly. Only had one small niggle, couple of days later realised they had double charged my credit card , but with one phone call and a very apologetic staff member this was refunded immediately. Overall very professional and great place to stay. To the extent we have just booked to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was close to the sea front. The room was very good, large and clean. The bathroom was 'tired' and the shower poor which was a real shame.
The staff were friendly and they were very helpful but did struggle to provide for our dietary requirements.

It was almost there, but not quite.....

Room Tip: We had room three which was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian_wylie380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I only just got to our home country England. We spent two nights with a relative and a night with a friend. Today we checked into Ilfracombe House Hotel. We had booked a 3 bedroom apartment and was looking forward to staying local for the 3 weeks we have in England. The first problem is that walking up the stairs of our apartment we encountered a road cone. That's when we walked into the first bedroom, which has no curtains. Next up is the addition of two 18 ranked movies left in the open. They were two ultra-violent movies which could really disturb me and my brother. The other things were:
Curtains hanging off in another room
A freezer without a door
Iron marks in the carpet
Dirty sofas covered with dog blankets to hide the grit
A piece of wall hanging off
A sock on the washing machine

I feel really disappointed about this outcome as it has made all of my family stressed and worried.

Written by George Tarrant aged 10

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Booked the hotel for two nights, our room was spacious, comfy and nicely decorated. Plenty of parking in the car park and on road

Breakfast is very good, lots of choices, the bar is also good with friendly staff. First night we ate out but seeing the food that was served at the hotel we ate in house on the second night, the food is really good and quite cheap.

The owners and staff really make the experience, nice and friendly

I will definitely be returning

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Rather than stay in an airport hotel before a flight, we chose this one as it seemed traditional,and we had an enjoyable stay in town near the sea.

We had two rooms on the top floor, each well equipped and very clean and tidy, the hotel is located on the edge of Westcliffe and a 2 minute walk from the cliffs overlooking the sea and Pier..

Evening meals were available but we wanted to walk 10-15 minutes into town and the pier area.

The breakfast was excellent.

There is a small car park at the rear but free street parking is available outside the hotel in Wilson St and the nearby roads.

Room Tip: Superior rooms were more spacious, the hotel is away from pubs/clubs so noise not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gossy-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
1,294 reviews
1.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#4 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
882 reviews
1.6 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe House Hotel

Address: 9-13 Wilson Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $87 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilfracombe House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'AA' Rated 4-Star Guest House which combines spacious and comfortable accommodation with a prime location close to Cliffs Pavilion Theatre and Southend's Adventure Island Funfair Park. • 20 en-suite Bedrooms & 6 fully serviced Apartment Suites • Walking distance to High Street, Cliffs Pavilion & Seafront • Free Car Parking • Free Wi-Fi • Free Full English Breakfast • SKY SPORTS in all Rooms & Bar • Fully Licensed Bar & Restaurant • Less than 7 minutes drive from Southend Airport • 1/2 Price Wristbands to Adventure Island Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ilfracombe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Hotel Southend On Sea
Ilfracombe House Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing