We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More right then wrong”
Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just arrived back from the Camelia Hotel. My wife and I booked an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast as part of the package. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. We were in Southend to go to the theatre and we found the advice given to us about travelling to the theatre to be very useful.
The room was very clean and although away from the main building the wifi worked
perfectly. The TV could have been a bit bigger but that's being picky.
The main reason we are not giving the hotel a 5 is that the food was not really up to the rest of the hotels standard. I am reviewing the restaurant as part of the hotel because the food was included in the price.
My wife had breaded Brie which was overcooked . She had the pork belly for main which came with mash potatoes and sweet Thai sauce which did not really work. The pork belly itself was not good, it is an easy cut to get wrong and the fat needed to be rendered down further and the skin needed to be crispy.
I had a cured meat platter to start, which was ok and the sirloin steak for main which was cooked well but the sauce did not work with the really smokey bacon. We both had creme brûlée for dessert which was ok. Both of the wines we had were perfectly drinkable but when spending £25 on a bottle it should be opened at the table and offered to taste first. The oddest thing was the tv being on whilst eating a valentines menu.
All the above might sound harsh but this is a nice little hotel which we would stay in again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 533 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for one night on 23 January. From checking-in to checking-out, the staff could not do enough for us. They were extremely welcoming & friendly and didn't mind us having our small dog with us. Unlike every other hotel we've stayed in, there was no charge for the dog and we didn't feel as though we had an inferior room. The hotel was easy to find, in a good location with loads of parking at the back. We went for a beautiful walk on the beach, which is just across the road.

The bar area is very nice, with Sky Tv, including sports channels and the drinks prices are reasonable. We were offered the option of eating in the restaurant or bar area and they accommodated a smaller meal for us, as we had eaten a late lunch. The food was delicious and the prices very competitive. There are also pubs, bars, cafes & restaurant very nearby if you want to eat & drink out.

The whole hotel is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. My husband is very particular about cleanliness and even he couldn't find a spec of dirt or dust anywhere!

Breakfast was great, with lots of cooked choices as well as cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts etc. We were also offered as much toast as we wanted. The sea views from the dining room are lovely and very relaxing.

Overall, I would say this is one of the friendliest (without being intrusive) hotels I have ever stayed at and I would not hesitate to stay there again. If pushed to criticise anything, we would have liked thicker bath towels.

Thanks for a lovely stay and we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarewade2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel is one of the best places to stay. Family ran; with the most delightful staff. Clean, comfortable and very homely. Its right on the sea front with a wonderful view. With in walking distance of the all noise but far enough away to feel at peace.

Room Tip: book room nine if your along.. its a little small for two but perfect for one. and a most wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianetc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Dont go there It's so dirty The manager was so ignorant Worst food ever my girls were so ill the manager is so ignorant Not helpfull at all he said you. Shouldn't of eaten breakfast if you don't like it

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ste11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I have been to this hotel for a few years mostly on short breaks when the annual Southend Air Show is on and other times too. we have standard rooms and upgrades and comfortable and clean. Our Family join us there, our two sons and their Families. We all live in South Lincolnshire now but came from near to the resort of Southend On Sea in Essex.

Always good to return to the Camelia where we are looked after well and welcomed by the staff and management. Looking forward to returning in 2014.

Room Tip: The hotel has an self contained apartment next door for thiose who like self catering. Good quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Given recently refurbished Room 7 in main building with double-poster bed at the back of the hotel on seceond floor. Clean, well-equipped room. . A quiet night, and an excellent breakfast with sea-view served by friendly staff. Reception staff also very welcoming. This was our second stay, and we shall certainly come to the Camelia again.

Room Tip: Recommend Room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Excellent night stay. Great location, service, cleanliness and atmosphere. Fully stocked bar and great breakfast in the morning. Would highly recommend to any one looking to stay in Southend. I would especially recommend the sea view rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
790 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing