We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as good as first”
Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Bungay
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second visit as good as first”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Given recently refurbished Room 7 in main building with double-poster bed at the back of the hotel on seceond floor. Clean, well-equipped room. . A quiet night, and an excellent breakfast with sea-view served by friendly staff. Reception staff also very welcoming. This was our second stay, and we shall certainly come to the Camelia again.

Room Tip: Recommend Room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    115
    45
    18
    11
See reviews for
105
227
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Excellent night stay. Great location, service, cleanliness and atmosphere. Fully stocked bar and great breakfast in the morning. Would highly recommend to any one looking to stay in Southend. I would especially recommend the sea view rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed just one night prior to flying from Southend Airport and booked on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews.

The hotel is in a really good position (pity it was winter and with gales blowing in from the sea.) The room we were allocated was in the annexe. It was well-furnished, comfortable and very clean.

We ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant. The food was acceptable but we were disappointed at the boring menu choices. Breakfast was the same. Alcohol prices were very reasonable.

Staff were efficient and friendly.

Our enduring memory is of a clean hotel, but one totally lacking in character.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had a brilliant time the room was lovely all friendly and very welcoming
Breakfast with a sea view we loved it
Can't get better than going to sleep to the sound of the sea
Had a sixty milkshake and walk back along the front

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Sister in law who lives near to the Camelia suggested we stay for Christmas night and managed to book the last room, as my 80 year old mum was coming we needed one on the ground floor, large free car park behind the hotel, lovely twin room with tea/coffee making facilities with great en-suite, wooden floor and crisp white linen and fluffy white towels. Breakfast was amazing, selection of cereal, fresh fruit with a menu on the table to choose anything from Kippers to full English.. which was plentiful, rounds of tea and toast. Definitely hot/tasty and wholesome.
What I enjoyed most about the Camelia Hotel was the Customer Service which was second to non, very attentive, but not intrusive staff, who were first rate.. in fact so much so other establishments should send there staff here for training.
If I could give any negatives, I did see some dust on the radiator and a bit of mould starting on the window frames but I do have OCD when it comes to cleaning.
This Hotel was definitely the Best I have stayed in for many years.
Well Done.

Room Tip: Room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We have had family christmas dinners here for several years and always been very pleased with the restuarant and the immaculate presentation of the whole place.
When we needed to stay in Southend for one Friday night we booked a sea facing deluxe room. Whilst not particularly large it had a brilliant view of the sea through large windows .As per the rest of the hotel it was immaculate and very clean. Breakfast in the restuarant was really excellent, being plentiful and of very good quality.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definately come again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark8jagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have stopped at this hotel over the past three years for business. The staff have made me feel very welcome and great service. Form the friendly cleaning staff and Doreen in the restaurant.

In the 16 weeks I have stayed there I have stopped in many of the suites which is like living in a serviced apartment. Best regards to all the staff that made my stay so good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
772 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#13 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
298 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Property: Camelia Hotel
Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing