We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Southend-on -Sea”
Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Weekend in Southend-on -Sea”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two weekend nights in October. We were in Southend-on-Sea for a famiy re-union and, because of a bereavement, we had to change our arrangements and the hotel booking not once but twice. The hotel management was very accommodating and empathetic. We were pleased we booked this hotel as it was clean & quiet and not expensive. We had a huge twin room with two double beds but no view except a concrete back yard. Breakfast was excellent; a wide choice of cereal including frehly-made porridge (oatmeal); full fried breakfast with good quality bacon and Cumberland sausage (a bit salty for my palate) and free-range eggs. On our second morning I had kippers (smoked herring) and it was delicious. Coffee was good; my wife even had a second cup - a rare mark of approval.

The staff were all friendly and were local people, which was a relief as we could ask questions about the area. There is a small outdoor terrace overlooking the Thames estuary and a cosy, small bar inside.

The weather was sunny but cool for our visit and we had a lovely morning on the world's longest pleasure pier. If you like fairground rides, the area around the shore end of the pier is second heaven.

We can recommend Hotel Camelia without reservation. It is not in the centre of the action (no bad thing) but there is a good bus service outside the door or, if you like to walk, it is a twenty-minute walk to the pier.

Room Tip: We asked for a rom with easy access and, when we arrived, we were offered a choice of two. We chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyremarxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    113
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
100
218
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I decided to stay in Southend overnight whilst on business. I was given a couple of options by my companys travel provider.

I stayed at the Camelia mainly because of its location and parking.

I was greeted by a really nice lady who was very helpful. My room was in the annexe next door. The room itself was spacious, nicely decorated and had the usual amenities. The bathroom was adequate. I was happy with the room.

As the weather was poor I decided to dine at the hotel. The evening menu was varied. I opted for the A La Carte menu (the hotel do serve a set menu at a reasonable price). My food was tasteful and nice. I had no complaints.

The breakfast was cooked fresh and was good.

The staff were very nice especially the older lady who served me both my dinner and breakfast.

I had no complaints with this hotel. The added advantage was that the wifi was free. I regularly stay in Holiday Inns and they dont provide free wifi!!

Would I return ?? Yes - next time I stay overnight in Southend, I hope to return to this hotel.

Overall - a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a room on the top floor,turn right.Sea view.Very damp around the window and down the wall below tv.Chair up against the wall to hide damp.Could not turn radiator on.Told reception,they said they would tell the owner.Left my name and contact but did not hear from them.Had to take jacket that i put over chair to cleaners to get the mould cleaned off.Breakfast was nice.More a bed and breakfast than a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawson, Australia
Level Contributor
584 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely Hotel ( really a B&B) right on the beach. Lovely room overlooking the ocean and ships passing by.
Woke each morning to the sunrise.
Beautifully appointed room with all facilities and scrupulously clean.
Staff were all very welcoming and the breakfast was great. Will stay there again when next in England.
Thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Always enjoy our short breaks here, we stay in one of the suites adjoining the hotel, which have all you could possible wish for. Lovely bedroom, lounge , bathroom and small balcony overlooking the sea. Have just come back having spent three nights there to celebrate our 51st wedding anniversary, very helpful staff even carried our case up to our room.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a last minute thought. The staff were very accommodating, the room was lovely and clean. We had a drink in the bar and dinner in the restaurant, very good and very enjoyable - would definately come again. Highly recommended.
S Laverty - Newcastle

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had a great stay over two days few weeks ago. The weather was lovely hot and sunny. Staff was very friendly and helpfull with everything. The room was small but nice with a lovely sea view. Good location and close to pier and town centre. Good money value. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,161 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
747 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Property: Camelia Hotel
Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing