We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay if flying next morning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at the hotel as we were flying early the next morning, I booked a deal with 15 nights parking, which was through their site and excellent value.
The hotel room was very nice with an excellent bathroom, my only complaint was the fold out bed my daughter had was very uncomfortable. Our bed and pillows were very comfortable. Very quiet at the hotel, our room faced the airport but no noise.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerrytms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Kerrytms
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We are delighted with your comments regarding our polite staff, clean and spacious room. We are also thrilled with your 5 star rating of us. Our PSG - Park, Stay and Go is the best value for money package for holiday and parking.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Regards
Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 823 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014

Starting to become a regular at the Holiday inn - Southend, staff starting to know me by name. restaurant service is good, rooms clean, car-park secure. Reception staff always helpfull, in fact all the staff that I come into contact with are helpfull. Only negative is the fact that the room windows don't open - I prefer fresh air!

Room Tip: 4th Floor, same side as airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Mike T,
Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your recent stay. I am thrilled you have enjoyed your stay thoroughly and that we went extra mile to make your stay Home away from Home. We look forward to you visiting again in the future.
Regards
Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights with work and everything is to the highest standard. From the moment I walked in to the moment I left all staff were lovely and helpful. The rooms were modern and clean with everything you could need. The food for both breakfast and evening meal was delicious! Fully recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank FrogAndAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear FrogAndAl,
Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your recent one week stay. I am thrilled you believe that we delivered way beyond the generic franchise experience and that not just a great hotel and food but staff that go the extra mile. We look forward to you visiting again in the future.
Regards
Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed 2 nights. We were surprised that there was a charge for the car park, which involved tickets and processing at the desk each time we went in and out, which was a bit of a pain.

The room was what you would expect, clean and comfortable. Ours had a floor to ceiling window overlooking the airport terminal and runway, which proved more compelling than the telly. In addition the room was very well sound-proofed and we could only just hear the aircraft at maximum thrust on take off.

The bathroom had a loo projecting out from the wall, rather than standing on the floor and it creaked rather alarmingly as soon as the slightest weight was applied! This did not lead to the most relaxed posture because we feared imminent disaster!

The breakfasts were superb and plentiful, taken in the restaurant overlooking the airport runway. Dinner was also delicious and very good value, provided you didn't overdo the drinks side of the bill.

We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the airport are more interesting and surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear IreneC,
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel from your 2 night stay. We are thrilled you enjoy the food, rooms and welcoming staff, so much so that you make us your hotel of choice. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your continued custom.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a great review on TripAdvisor regards to your 2 night stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the team here at the hotel which is a great motivation to us all as we strive to provide the highest standards of customer service to all of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit and please feel free to contact us should you require any assistance in the meantime.

Kind regards,
Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed 1 night at this hotel and was very impressed with the room.
Very modern, large and clean - the same for the bathroom.
Breakfast was very good too, would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Southend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sunseeker170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Sunseeker170,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review us more than a 4*, following your most recent visit.

I was of course delighted that you had a relaxing enjoyable experience and that you had been impressed with the hotel and facilities and the award winning breakfast.

It's is pleasing to receive such positive feedback, especially your recommendation.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and thank you again for your review.
kind regards
Rohit Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here with my 10 year old for a weekend away. I booked one of the executive rooms. I was given a room on the first floor, room 101. No no no. Firstly if you are claustrophobic this a room to avoid because there are no windows and you can hardly see through the opaque glass so you feel truly boxed in. To make matters worse the fridge was leaking and there was a puddle of water... The carpet was stained and it was dusty in the room. Good thing is I was offered a new executive room on the 4th floor with a good view and it was clean. So thank you for that. But what baffles me is... Why give a guest a bad room when you have good rooms available? It's nonesensical. Then i forgot our tooth brush so called front desk and was told they'd ran out! oh well i suppose i am to blame for that one. but it would have been nice if they had some lying about somewhere. I was very pleased with everything else. Good customer service and the food at the restaurant was good. There was one petite blonde lady in a white top and black trousers at the restaurant in the evening who lacked a smile and basic decorum to be honest. Whilst we were being seated by the waitress she told the waitress to tell me kids eat for free as though we were invisible and she said it quite haughtily without batting an eyelid to look at us although we were stood right next to her. Needless to say I enjoyed my time and all other staff were pleasant. I will recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maraleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Maraleese,
Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Southend Hotel following your most recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our customer service and especially the personalized service that we are so proud to deliver to all our guests. The team will be very pleased to hear your very kind comments about the excellent service you received.

We truly appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is only through constructive comments such as yours that we can really improve and enhance the overall guests’ experience. I would like to acknowledge some of the concerns that you had during your stay with us and assure you that this has been addressed to the highest level.
Thank you for your recommendation and looking forward to welcoming you in near future.
Kind regards
Rohit Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very clean, very quiet very friendly staff.

Excellent quality rooms, great nights sleep.

Good quality breakfast.

Right next to the airport - no point using it if you want to be close to the town centre.

Staff prepared to serve you at the bar all through the night.

You use again without hesitation.

Free Wi-Fi for as many devices as you like.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Awordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Awordy,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimenting 5 star review following your most recent stay with us at y Inn Southend Hotel. I am absolutely thrilled to hear that the team looked after you so well and it is through such wonderful reviews that motivates us to further enhance our service levels and continue creating memorable experiences for our guests. The team will indeed be very pleased to hear your very kind words. Our priority / club member receives free internet in IHG properties.
Kind regards
Rohit Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,279 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,740 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $74 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing