We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay & Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Used hotel on Saturday 21st September for 1 night stay prior to early morning flight the following morning. The £129 overnight rate plus 8 days parking was reasonable value.
On arrival, the hotel car park was full and we were forced to park in the overspill area which was still secure and proved to be so during our week away.
The early morning walk to the terminal was poorly lit and a bit off putting. No dropped kerb to facilitate the wheeling of suitcases and the whole experience did not hang together that well. That said, the hotel was modern, clean and the staff on reception both knowledgable and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments about the hotel and staff. We hope to have you back again soon,
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 812 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn at the start of our first trip from Southend Airport due to an early morning check-in and my dislike of circumventing the M25 with a deadline....

The whole experience was extremely easy and a relaxing start to our week away. A Stay&Park package made financial sense to add to the ease of access offered by the close proximity of hotel to terminal.

We did not sample the restaurant as all we wanted was a snack - BIG mistake to visit the McDonalds next door - truly awful.....

Room Tip: Plan to take any meals in the hotel or go further afield......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your kind comments are a great reflection of the excellent guest experiences we aim to deliver. We hope to have you back again soon,
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed Saturday and Sunday night to attend a family wedding nearby. From the moment we walked into the hotel we were very impressed with the décor and cleanliness. All the staff that we came into contact with were very pleasant and professional. Our room on the second was very smart and spotlessly clean, with a view of the airport. Although the aircraft were quite close at times we were not disturbed by noise at all. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the rooftop bar with a drink watching the comings and goings on the runway. Breakfast was also served on this floor, with lots of choice including a very good quality cooked breakfast with freshly cooked eggs if desired. Although the restaurant was busy when we were there, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. If we can find another excuse to visit Southend we would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayledales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your kind comments are a great reflection of the excellent guest experiences we aim to deliver. We hope to have you back again soon,
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after a late flight from Venice. Hotel only a 3 minute walk from Southend Airport and railway station. Very friendly man on reception gave me lots of information. We was in room 234 and it was very spacious with a lovely comfortable king side bed. However, in the bathroom there was only two towels and one of them had lipstick on so the room could not have been checked beforehand. I called reception and there were clean towels delivered within 2 minutes. Lovely bar on 5th floor with stunning views over Southend Airport. Friendly bar staff too. The restaurant is just behind the bar where we had breakfast the following morning. Oh dear. They had a good selection but unfortunately the entire breakfast was cold. The only thing hot was the toast which you did yourself in a 19th century style toaster which seemed to take for ever. The tea complemented the food as that was cold too. You have a few problems to sort out there, don't you? It is a lovely hotel but let down by the problems I have described.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spacemonkey1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I'm sorry your breakfast experience failed to meet your expectations. We want to improve in the service that we offer so we will reflect on your comments made. Thank you for your other kind comments, I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,
Kind regards
Rohit Singh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited for father in laws 84th Birthday. Booked a week before but upon arrival they could not find our booking. However they offered to sort a table especially after we showed them the call made on our mobile phone. I must say the Supervisor was brillant and made us a nice table up looking over the airport and ensured we had a complimentary drink and bread which was thoughtful. All the staff were very pleasant and so helpful. The food however was not so great. My husband had deep friend brie in breadcrumbs and unfortunately consisted only of breadcrumbs. The prawn cocktail was good. The mains appeared to be microwaved and only of average standard. Would return for drinks as nice location but not to eat. We did not stay in the hotel so cannot comment on the accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your visit and I am happy to hear you enjoyed the views and service provided. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food, our chefs at '1935' take great pride in the food they cook for all of our guests to ensure great quality so your feedback is greatly appreciated, the food provided is not at all microwaved. I will make sure your comments are shared with the team
We hope to have you back again in the future,
Kind regards
Rohit Singh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here before an early morning flight out of Southend Airport and I couldn't be happier with our choice! It was super easy to get to (3 minute walk from the Southend Airport Rail Station), right across from the airport, and it was a lovely hotel. The staff were very nice, the room was lovely, and just what we needed. We had dinner in town, but the bar and restaurant looked nice, and I'd be interested in trying it out the next time I stay here. There will definitely be a next time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickenlyttle2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We hope to have you back again soon,
Kind regards,
Rohit Singh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I was looking for a hotel for the night before our v early start to catch our flight to Portugal, we looked all over Southend but I could not be bothered with worrying about booking a taxi and if it would turn up etc so we just booked this place; We were pleasantly surprised, though I suppose it is a brand new hotel so we expected the place to be all new and shiny (which it is) but we had not printed out our transfer voucher for the other end, as we had only just read that we need to do this (!), we thought that reception would charge us for internet use and to print the voucher but they didn't, we emailed it to reception and they printed it for us with no charge (this totally amazed me).

Totally happy with the stay and only had a 10 minute walk (max) the following morning which for peace of mind was worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your kind comments are a great reflection of the excellent guest experiences we aim to deliver. We hope to have you back again soon,
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,267 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
658 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
324 reviews
3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $72 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing