We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1935 lunch menu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

View fantastic, kitchen very slow even though not busy. Good value, except for parking which was £6 for three hours. Steer clear of the rice pudding if you like it cooked. The restaurant was a great place for lunch but could get very busy with such a small bar area. Service was very friendly, but tables could be spaced out a little better as ours had to be moved on arrival. Would try again on an evening occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJT18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent lunch experience. I’m pleased you liked the view and that we are good value. We take on board your comments regarding the service speed and the rice pudding being undercooked. We do look forward to you visiting again for an evening meal and trust that you will have a good experience.
Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 791 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good location, poor value for money - hotel seems to have hiked the prices as next to the airport. Rooms are small and certain not luxury. Better value at Premier Inn. Booked on late rooms so got some discount, certainly would never pay the full rates advertised in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AlisonF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay. I’m sorry to learn that you feel we are not value for money. We are a new 4 star hotel and probably have some of the best standards of room in the local area. We do offer great discounts to guest who book in advance where you could save up to 30% or so the further in advance you can reserve and confirm your room when you book direct from our brand website.
Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is my second stay on business at the Holiday Inn at Southend Airport and they have improved things since it first opened.

The rooms are comfortable and reasonably spacious and very quiet too.

Breakfast is good and the food at the restaurant is good - but the service is slow.

Friendly service and they've sorted out the parking issue so overall and excellent stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for visiting us for a second time. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and enjoy the food and a comfortable spacious room. We look forward to you welcoming you again.
Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Have stayed here twice now, i was a bit dubious when a local told me it was right next to the airport but never heard a thing and both time had rooms overlooking the runway.
Rooms spacious clean and comfortable, OK yes both times I have had an exec room but i have had worse Crowne Plaza Rooms are they are supposed to be 1 step up.
Yes you pay for car parking and wifi if not a Platinum but hey its a Hotel in Britain same could be said for thousands.
Overall v good hotel and good service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alandt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for visiting us for a second time. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you love the fact we’re close to the airport with the view but have not been disturbed by the noise due to sound proofing. We have built a Holiday Inn that has standards aiming at a 4 star level. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and service. We look forward to you visiting again.
Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

So let's be honest. Holiday Inn used to be synonymous with quality, comfort and a bit of luxury. Then they introduced Holiday Inn Express to hit the cheap end of the market. Problem was they priced themselves out of the Travel Lodge/Premier Inn market but in fairness the rooms were comfortable and spacious if you wanted to pay extra. What I cannot comprehend is what they have done now. The new hotel at Southend Airport makes Premier Inn rooms look luxurious yet it carries the Holiday Inn label and has the audacity to charge £100 for a Saturday night stay in a box-room. To rub salt in the wound, they then charged me £5 to park the car. Where was I supposed to park it? This is a nasty little extra that Hilton started (in fairness this is OK if you are using their facilities in the day but should not apply to overnight guests) and others are now joining in, Thistle seem to be the latest. Vote with your feet, refuse to use these hotels until they stop this sly and unnecessary tactic. Paying for wi-fi is bad enough but being asked to pay to park your car is disgraceful. And £15 for breakfast? I don't think so.

Food and wine over priced as is the room. McDonalds next door was even tempting although eventually found really nice pub in Hockley - dont bother with Strawberry Fields pub - awful attitude - not at all welcoming. Other than that it was a great weekend :), oh, except that they could not be bothered to open the downstairs bar on a Saturday night, clearly did not need my custom.

Finally, the room was booked for three adults. It was made up for two - yes that is right £105 for a room for two people in a cubby hole. Still, I did get a half eaten packet of biscuits left behind by the previous occupant, I should have been grateful. Last time I book a Holiday Inn without very careful investigation into its pedigree.

Room Tip: Apparently if you can get a free upgrade the rooms are really nice :). In 5 months only 10 people h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was sorry to learn you were disappointed with the standards of our rooms and the price compared with other chains. We are a new Holiday Inn and have implemented all the standards to meet the brand requirements, indeed being new hotel; we do deliver more in some aspects. The size, furniture and room amenities are all approved by the Holiday Inn brand owner. Compared to the Premier Inn mentioned, we have fully individually controlled air conditioning, laptop safes, full size bath sheet towels in the bathroom not bath towels, ironing boards in all bedrooms, large freesat flat screen TV’s and full service benefits available such as laundry, room service, seamless room charging too name a few. We do have to charge for car parking as do the Premier inn at strawberry fields has started to do recently. This is due to the fact that the car park is owned and operated by the airport and one of the reasons for the charge is to ensure there are spaces for our hotel users and at discounted rates to the general public. The food and beverage pricing is typical of a 4 star property and you can eat a meal for as little as £10 and breakfast inclusive rates can be purchased which can cost as little as £7.50 as an additional cost. The Bar on the 5th floor is open between 8am and 1am as a minimum. The ground floor lounge is only open to private functions in the evening, when booked.

I do hope that you have not been put off staying in the future and that you pay us a visit again soon

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was my first time staying in the hotel and it didn't disappointed. Brand new, rooms were spotlessly clean. Stayed in the executive room,l nice and spacious. Took a while to understand the air conditioning system but asked reception for help. Ate dinner in the restaurant food, was good although desserts took a while to come out and as others have mentioned the seats under the vents are very cold. Thew hotel is right next to the airport, which is very handy for early morning flights. Wifi is only free for 30 mins. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanchia46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your first visit to the hotel. We are delighted you thought the room was spotlessly clean and that you enjoyed the executive room. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and we are still in discussion with our builders regarding improving the air conditioning function and have made some adjustments already to the system. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Originally went to the restaurant in October 2012 for dinner on a Friday evening and as it was all new things could have been better. Our return visit was a different experience. The food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your return visit to our restaurant. We are delighted you thought the food and service excellent and enjoyed your experience and the improvement on your first visit in the first few weeks of opening. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,235 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
134 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $83 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing