We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We upgraded our room on arrival to a corner room paying £25 more (executive). We didnt think the upgrade worth it. It has an odd extra corner part which has only partial run way views.
The mini bar stocked only beer and coke. It was quiet but we felt that the other rooms may be just as quiet (depending on neighbours of course). The area where you make tea is cramped in and the bathroom door swings back onto it. If partner is making tea, and you want to come out of the bathroom, the door cannot open. Bed and pillows were comfortable enough and the tv is modern and flat. In the executive rooms, there was complmentary water bottles.

My bedside side table and lamp were not particularly clean, there was dust and cloth swipe marks. The smoke alarm had a piece of tissue wrapped around it. I notified reception about this as I did not want a false accusations of smoking in the room and subsequent charges. Transpired smoke alarm not working?
We were surprised to find how close to the airport and train station it was, you just walk a couple of minutes.

Room Tip: Not sure the upgrade to executive is worth the extra £25 personally
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitabarnes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your stay in December. The executive room you had is larger than most bedrooms as well as the different amenities in the room. As you mention there are mini bars in the executive rooms and complimentary bottled water. In addition there are bathrobes and a lit wardrobe. In the bathroom there are upgraded toiletries and a rain shower. The TV is much larger too in the executive bedrooms as well as different levels of finish and decoration.

I will discuss the dusty lampshade and tissue with the housekeeper and apologise for this shortcoming.

we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 804 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

For an economy hotel, the rooms are great! The restaurant and bar in the 5th floor has stunning architecture with a lovely view of the airport. My only complaint is the maid couldn't read my do not disturb sign (she also didn't comply to my colleague's). All other staff- very nice and helpful.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank LaLa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for you kind comments regarding your recent stay. I apologise for the maid not respecting your do not disturb sign - this may have been due to the time of day on your departure, but will ensure the housekeeper is made aware.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Holiday Inn Southend is located within walking distance of both the Southend Airport Rail Station and the Southend Airport, which can feature some great airfares to Belfast, Dublin and the Continent on EasyJet and Aer Lingus.

For early morning flights, the Holiday Inn comes in handy, as the first train out of Liverpool Street does not arrive until a little after 0630. Getting there the night before could get you a good night's sleep at a cheaper rate than a lot of the London area hotels.

The hotel met expectations for an easy-in, easy-out business traveler hotel, with most things inclusive, such as internet and breakfast. Our room was a spacious king with an ample bathroom.

Only two minor observations:

1. The king bed, while huge and comfortable, like many in the area was made up of two smaller mattresses pushed together. This was only apparent if you slept in the very middle of the bed.

2. The room required a room key to be inserted into a special wall receptacle in order for the lights to turn on. If you don't know this when you first walk in, it can be hard to figure out since - you guessed it - the lights aren't on.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ggflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Being a new hotel there are many environmentally friendly design features typical of any new building as part of the building regulations. The power and lighting is one of these features ensuring the building is energy efficient.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future
Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are flying in or out of Southend Airport this is an excellent option. It's just a short walk to both the passenger terminal and the railway station. The building is very new and the quality of the fixtures and fittings was high. 30 minutes of free wi fi enabled me to check e mails. All of the staff were helpful and courteous. Our room had extensive views across the airport but there was very little noise disturbance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank You for leaving comments regarding your recent stay. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay and found the hotel very convenient and well furnished. We do hope you will stay again soon.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very new and it shows. The building is very well finished and the sraff were all very friendly.
The restaurant is excellent although a little expensive.
As mentioned, this hotel is very convenient for the airport, probably no more than 300 yards away and offer good offers for long stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay. We are really pleased your feedback is so positive and that you enjoyed your stay and meal in our 1935 Rooftop Restaurant and Bar. We will always be providing park stay and go packages and the further in advance you can book the best prices can be gained. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just come back from a one day stay at the Holiday Inn Southend. What a great place to stay - the rooms were lovely and the beds extremely comfortable. The restaurant was superb - the food was excellent and highly recommended. Even though you this hotel is right on the site of Southend Airport you would never know as the soundproofing is fab and it was lovely to watch the planes coming in to land from the restaurant

Room Tip: We loved being able to look out of the window to see the planes coming in to land
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorahYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for leaving such great feedback regarding your recent stay. We a really pleased you enjoyed your stay and great meal experience in our 1935 Rooftop Restaurant and Bar. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel was booked for their new years eve black and white ball, parking was no problem but a long wait to check in.

The room was very nice and spacious with all ammenaties in the room. On going up to the lounge and bar area we found that the area with seating very small and not enough seats and drinks prices costly.

On arrival at the function suit there was drinks on arrival as self service! where it would be nice to welcome the guests with the drinks served from a tray by staff. In the suit this was all set out very nice and neat ready for the evenings festivities.
The food ? the starters came which all were pre ordered ours was a cheese souffle and served on the plate all alone and looked compleatly lost, but the taste was very nice not over powering taste of cheese and very light.
The other starter was a salad of artichoke and this was said to be fair.
Next we had an intermediate which they called passion fruit caviar which in my opinion was a wast of time serving as it was so tasteless it defies description.
Next came the main meal this was Mignon of beef, this was served up with out being asked how the beef be cooked? it came up so raw that blood ran down the mashed potatos it sat on, as the plate was placed on the table several of us said this was not acceptable and to take it away and cook it correctly to which the reply was leave it till every body had been served and then we will take it to be replaced, by the time the food returned all the vegetables had gone cold and had to be replaced at the same time the meat that had been sent back for correct cooking came back with little change, at this point i had lost all interest in the food and told them to keep it.

next came the dessert this was a pistachio & praline truffle.
This was presented very nicely and as for the tast this was extremly nice with out being over powering and looked and tasted as a proper dessert should.

Also there was no coffee after the meal, for this type of meal after dinner coffee should be served as part of the meal, coffee was available from a machine which had to be paid for.
Breakfast was another experience, first the staff had no information that our breakfast was included with our booking, once thro and sat down at the table we proceded to the food counter to find that most of the ingrediants were missing and had to wait for these to be added to the counter, once we got our food we found it was well cooked and of good quality and tasty, coffee and tea was served in large pots nice and hot.
GERNERAL COMMENTS

If this place wants to compete with others for functions including food and at competitive prices i feel i must look at employing staff with proper knowledge of what is required of them.

The staff it self were very help full to their current ability but feel that with more training and leadership they will be better equiped to cope with a larger number of clients with out being stressed .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave such candid and detailed feedback. This was of course our first New Year’s Eve function and indeed we have served only a few functions of this type of nature so we are still learning. We will be holding a debrief in January to discuss and review the seasonal festivities and write next year’s programme.

Kieran spent many hours preparing the special menu and ensuring the quality and tenderness of the beef fillet in particular. We only had a request from 2 of our diners of this function for well-done beef and therefore only prepared 2 cooked this way. (Chefs will nearly always cook red meat pink) with hindsight we should have specifically asked this question either before the night or at the beginning of service.

The hotel was almost full for NYE and as such was very busy for breakfast. I apologise that the breakfast buffet needed replenishing when you arrived for breakfast and am pleased that you thought that the meal was well cooked and tasty when you received it.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,254 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
653 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
321 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $82 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing