We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful house in a beautiful park.”
Review of Prittlewell Priory

Prittlewell Priory
Book In Advance
More Info
$158.11*
and up
Private Southend's Seaside Delights Day Trip from London
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located in the heart of Priory Park, Prittlewell Priory is a monastery just waiting to be discovered. With a visitor centre next door to stop by for a drink or snack, and surrounded by beautiful gardens, there is plenty to see and explore.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in a beautiful park.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Easy access from the main road to ample free parking. The old manor has been beautifully restored and was historically important for the area. Interesting displays and things of interest for all the family. The surrounding parkland is a pleasure to wonder around and overall makes a great day out for all the family.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely park and priory worth a visit”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our first visit to the Priory since it has been refurbished. Entry is free and it is well worth a look round to learn the history of the place. The walled gardens are lovely too but it is unfortuntate that kids seem to think it is their right to play football anywhere and race about on bikes. Hopefully in the summer months the park will be patrolled.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JandRTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I used to love priory park until I took my son there at a year old to find 4 drunk teenagers 2 girls 2 boys no older than 14 having sex on the bench and on the floor it's was Discusting and shocking for my family and have not been since other than that take away the little dirtys it's a lovely place with plenty of life!

Helpful?
1 Thank Foodcritic086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoy the concerts at the bandstand”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have visited priory park many times this summer to see various acts at the bandstand which are free and on Saturday and Sunday throughout the summer 3pm to 5pm. Very enjoyable for a couple of hours

Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh on sea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Prittlewell Priory and park”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It was my first visit to both the priory and the park,the building is gorgeous and has things of interest to look at for both adults and children.
I loved the sweet-pea wallpaper in the Victorian room, there are stained glass windows depicting family crests in the main room among other things,there's a small stone room showing monks at prayer on the ground floor .
Upstairs has a room showing the wildlife of the park and a good view of the main room below.
The walled garden was pretty, lots of cosmos and bright coloured dahlia's but I would love to go back and see it in the spring.
The lady on the door was really friendly and the visit was free (just a donation if you wanted,we thought it was worth it)
The park cafe looks a little tired but the coffee was really good and both my friend and I were impressed that our boys food was good quality, well priced and freshly prepared.
The cafe also has about 4/5 bike stands.
The park itself has a play area with a decent range of play equipment and tons of free space, there is also a cycle path running through the park.
I would recommend a trip to the priory, it was a lovely hour spent at the end of our time in the park and a great way to learn a little bit of local history.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ml29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prittlewell Priory also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
 

Been to Prittlewell Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing