We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Southchurch Hall

Southchurch Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$157.97*
and up
Private Southend's Seaside Delights Day Trip from London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A stunning Grade 1 listed moated, medieval manor house is just a short walk from Southend on Sea's busy seafront and High Street. The house, gardens and archaeology are captured in time. Stop by the gift shop for a hot drink and a snack before exploring the gardens and feeding the ducks.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
uk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

my Granddaughters school had a visit planned and I went along to help out. In the 1950s it used to be a library and as a child i spent many happy hours there. So I was keen to see what it had to offer now. we arrived at 10am we were taken into the medieval dining room, the children were all told to sit down by the head servant who was dressed as a medieval servant, he had the children spellbound, with his stories of life as a servant and even had some of the children dress up as servants. we also had the Landowner visit he was also dressed up and the children were enthralled. the twenty two, seven and eight year old children had a great time as well as learning about the Tudors. we left at one thirty but the children wanted to stay longer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UkGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A Beautiful historical property”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is set in it's own grounds and is a pleasant place to stroll around and soak up the local history. There are winding paths between the ponds and ducks to feed! There are also green areas for picnics & fun & games.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank steveandsuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“ideal for rainy/cold days & great for families & solo's”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

i love this little museum. it has'nt changed in years & is great for all year round visits.
lovely grounds to have picnics, duck ponds, fabulous gardens/flowers/tree's & shrubs, nice little gift shop with drinks machine ( not expensive). Free entry into the museum but if you have children then buy the little £1-ish quiz book for them to do inside. it makes it fun for them to go round identifying items which in turn encourages them to remember and have fun. it literally is a2 up 2 down type of place and you could be in & out in minutes if you wanted but that would be a shame as it has alot of history. i always took my children here in the autumn months & hoped it didnt rain that way it was'nt to busy plus they still had the outside grounds to run about in and ffed the ducks. lovely place to wander leisurely and sit and especially great for photo taking.
i think they still do themed days throughout the year and my children loved this.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank social-butterfles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is an Interesting museum with lots of interesting things to see. It is suitable for all ages from 8 - 80.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Southchurch Hall”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Had a great Tudor day there wth my daughter and also one visit to see fashions through the years, found it a very interesting experience and would definately go again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shopaholic1970_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southchurch Hall also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Southchurch Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing