We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful little stroll”
Review of Southend Pier

Southend Pier
Book In Advance
More Info
$159.05*
and up
Private Southend's Seaside Delights Day Trip from London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southend Pier is the worlds longest pleasure Pier at one and a third miles or two point two kilometres. You may walk or take a unique ride on a Pier train. Visit the lifeboat station and gift shop, and stop for refreshments in Salt café.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A beautiful little stroll”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited the Pier in Oct and walked along the pier at sunset which was incredibly beautiful, it is a very long pier (I believe it's one of the longest!) so does take a little while to walk along but their is a train for those who don't fancy walking both ways. I would really recommend walking along the pier at sunset as it was amazing to stand and look back at all the lights from Adventure Island and be surrounded by only the noise of the sea and good conversation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WaverleyRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    495
    241
    86
    51
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Longest pier in the world”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Took my gran down in the train. She's 94 years old and the wheelchair fits on the train brilliantly. Had tea t a lovely modern cafe at the end and the train waited for us to come back - the price was amazing as well £1.80 concession rate. Loved it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank annettelaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I I/4 miles”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We walked to the end of the Pier with our 7 and 5 year old Grandchildren, we were looking forward to buying them a Rossi ice cream when we got to the end but we were disappointed to fine no ice cream kiosk or candy floss. In fact there was nothing apart from the Life Boat House and the new Cafe. The trip back in the train was very special to the children, their faces were a picture, staring out of the windows and to see the Halloween flags in the station was special too. More investment needs to be put back into the pier.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WINDSWEPT BUT WELL WORTH THE VISIT”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice walk along the pier towards the lifeboat station, but you might like to take the train back. Not much to see at the end of the pier at this time of year, other than a cafè and the RNLI Shop (includes a small exhibition). If the weather is fine, it's well worth the visit. If it was like last Sunday, stay at home!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimonInSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“walk the pier one way if nice and clear your lungs better than cough syrup”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

years ago the eastenders came to southend pier to walk and clear there lungs.as london had more people with chest problems so docs use to say go to southend.you can have a cupa at end or have a sarni or a beer.then get a train back have good day and enjoy .or go fishing thats relaxing

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southend Pier also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Hadleigh, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Southend Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing