We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food from the Kerala region”

Keralam South India Restaurant
Ranked #100 of 668 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food from the Kerala region”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Food is fantastic and the pickle tray is the highlight! Service can be a little slow if busy and if it's quiet the staff tend to watch you eat, which can be off putting. But apart from that I'm always happy to dine here and love to get takeaways which are always very good

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ammoman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    28
    16
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superb South Indian food”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you love Indian food but want something a bit different from the usual then this restaurant is fabulous. Yes, there is a long wait for your food, but everything is freshly prepared and it is more than worth waiting for.
We had their home made chutneys and poppadums to start with which were a real treat. The lemon pickle was gorgeous. They also had lime pickle, tamarind pickle and mango chutney, plus raita and diced onion plus a bit of salad too, all for 50p each. Great value.
Then I had the Malabar chilli chicken which they will cook to any chilli specification. I asked for medium which was very hot. South Indian food is hotter generally than North Indian/Pakistani food (in my experience) so if I had this again I would order it mild, as it damn near blew my hat off. It was superb. My husband had the chicken jalfrezi which was excellent and we shared a veggie curry, pilau rice and a peshwari nan. Really delicious flavours - we loved it all. To finish we had their home made kulfi, sharing a pistachio and an almond one, in pots, which were delicious. Very nice indeed. With a glass of wine and an orange and lemonade drink added to the bill the whole tab was less than 34 pounds. Very good value. The whole meal took us a couple of hours as service is slow, but this made for a lovely relaxing experience. I recommend this curry house. We actually tried the one next door last week and this one is far nicer, in our opinion, but we do like home-made authentic flavours rather than run of the mill curries.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tulip391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great food - if you don't mind the wait”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We normally visit this restaurant with several friends every six weeks or so, and although the food is exceptional the wait can be disappointing - We came up with the ideal senario last time we visited - we didn't order drinks to start with, but went straight onto ordering the food and asked for this to be cooked as soon as possible - once this was completed, we then ordered our drinks and bingo it worked out very well - The food is really exceptional

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uptonparkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome, but not so quick”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

If your looking for an indian it's not what you'd expect - but much better!
Lovely freshly cooked food, full of spice and flavour - the popadoms and chutneys are fab!
Staff are very friendly and helpful if you need help picking a dish
It's a place to relax, the food is fresh so you do have to wait for it to be cooked... order a starter and enjoy the time to relax with friends!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdgarRavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, not fast food, not Bangladeshi food”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

If you want good flavours, value for money and a change from the norm, then keralam is for you. If you want to go out for an Indian and a couple of beers there are plenty of alternatives. You will have to plan to be here longer than a fast food restaurant, but its worth the wait. Chillax and give yourself a treat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CastellPlayaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keralam South India Restaurant also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Keralam South India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing