We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Inn

The Angel Inn
Ranked #248 of 644 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

It took over 30 minutes for our drink order to arrive and over 1 1/2 hours for our food to arrive. The food however was edible and the staff polite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrposthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    53
    34
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Most disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

A group of us meet at the Angel Inn because usually it is central for us all, good nourishing food is served and there is a friendly team of employees. Unfortunately, this was not the case recently. The main course was edible but served at a coolish temperature. The desserts were basic/acceptable, except that the brandy sauce had too many lumps. We were drinking wine - the red wine was served freezing cold and when we ordered water, that never arrived, despite two requests. We gave up. Coffee arrived tepid and we had to order more hot water to make it drinkable. When ordering the desserts (this is not done at the table, you have to walk to the girl who is two rooms away and she takes your order and adds it to the bill), she asked me to find my own cutlery and was a little surprised when I requested more festive napkins. Only really at the end of the meal when a gentleman appeared with four complimentary mint chocolates did we actually receive any real service - but he was giving us the bill. An interesting observation we made was that you have to give a credit card when you arrive at the Inn as guarantee for the food you are ordering - I wonder what happens if you do not have a credit card? We will not be returning for our gatherings in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Stella-Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on sea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We played a game of find the meat!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently my girlfriend and I have been visiting different pubs around Essex on a Sunday, The Angel Inn seemed like a great place to tick off the list, beautiful surroundings and solid reviews. Unfortunately the meal did not reflect what seemed to be safe option for a good Sunday lunch, starters were bland and small, mine was missing one of the key ingredients listed on the menu! The leg of lamb for main was more like a shaving of over cooked meat accompanied by dry air filled potatoes, very small portions not what you'd expect from a traditional pub! Not impressed at all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I ate here recently it was very poor.
I think the food was from the local supermarket.
This pub is starting to look very tired.
The curtain linings are all ripped and it has no atmosphere.
It needs some new life and staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank weareladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to have a mid week lunch. Would think it's very busy at the weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited on a Monday (8th October) and booked for midday. Six of us at a lovely round table

Food was excellent - Pate, Steak, mushroom and ale pie, and apple crumble. The staff were friendly and helpful the service very good. WE arrived just before 12 and didn't leave until 3.30, but no one was hurrying us to leave. I can highly recommend this restaurant if you're in the Southend area. With drinks and coffee it worked out at around £28 per head. Excellent value

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angel Inn also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea
Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing