We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY . FRIENDLY COUPLE”

The Moorings Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Moorings Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 26 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here to attend an 80Th Birthday party .We found the owners very helpfull and attentive .Rooms were spotless .Breakfast was as good as any hotel .would recommend to anyone who wants a short stay .Excellent value for money ..

Room Tip: rooms are all street level .easy access for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms are clean, beds very comfy and with it being a small B&B with three rooms there was no noise on a night, the breakfast was really good and Emma was so friendly, all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRQ186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We received a very warm welcome from Emma . Our room, overlooking the Thames Estuary, was very comfortable and we had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you Emma, John and Oliver.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at The Moorings. What can I say...we had a lovely warm welcome from the start, our room had everything thing we could need and was immaculate, great value for money. The cooked breakfast was delicious and we were asked how we'd like it cooked etc.We could help ourselves to fresh fruit, toast, fruit juices, muesli and a selection of jams and marmalades etc. Would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghbutlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for one night with two friends we had the back room which was lovely and clean. The breakfast was gorgeous and we wasn't rushed at all.
Next time were in southend we won't hesitate to book here again.
Well done Emma.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jools0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had originally planned two nights but only ended up staying one night. Cancelled within 24 hours via email and had a reply to stay that was fine and there was no mention of a cancellation fee on website.

Had a lovely stay, would highly reccomend as it's well worth the money, the breakfast was wonderful.

However upon leaving we were told that the room hadn't sold for the following night and we should of paid for two nights. It left us with sour grapes in our mouth. Such a shame after a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The front room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annoymous16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just got back from a weekend trip to southend with my husband and 16 year old daughter. Found this b&b from a google search on the internet and how lucky were we?
From the moment of enquiry on the telephone prior to booking we could not find one fault. Emma is absolutely fantastic, so friendly and with a wealth of helpful knowledge of the area. We stayed in the back room which was cosy, clean and with the most comfortable beds and crisp white linen. The shower in the en-suite bathroom was lovely and the towels nice and big. The hospitality tray in the room was well stocked with tea, coffee, water, hot chocolate and biscuits.
Breakfast was a feast with a selection of cereals, fresh fruit ,yoghurt, a choice of full english or an alternative and toast with a choice of homemade preserves. Plenty of tea and coffee.
The b&b is situated within 15-20 mins walk to the centre and also has two chinese retaurants and a pub just a few doors down with a fish and chip shop and a bistro restaurant a few doors in the other direction.
Honestly, if you get the chance to stay here grab it quickly!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,740 reviews
3.6 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Bed and Breakfast

Address: 172 Eastern Esplanade, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moorings Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Moorings b&b
The Moorings Hotel Southend-On-Sea
The Moorings Bed And Breakfast Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing