We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Modern refurbished and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We come over to Southend from Kent frequently to do Adventure Island but decided on this occasion to sack off driving home and stop at this hotel which we covet everytime we come over. At £139 for the family room with a sea view and breakfast, we got our money's worth in the modern clean room, amazing view and comfortable king size bed, although I do begrudge the fact they call it a 'family room' by folding out a skinny sofa bed, when technically, we should all be sleeping in similar comfort.
That said, the breakfast spread was impeccable, with sea views from the restaurant.
Staff were great, in particular the reception staff made the visit special.
Would def go back, just need to save up!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Laura P,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay feedback on the online forum.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the time spent with us so much and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards,
Agne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here after our wedding and we loved the large room and sea view. The breakfast was good although I would have liked the choice of having a fried egg rather than just scrambled. We would definately stay here again when visiting Southend,

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear David B,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay feedback on the online forum.

We thank you for your kind comments and take on board your constructive feedback points about the breakfast selection. We actually do serve fried eggs during the breakfast, but they are cooked to order. I am very sorry if you were not made aware of the available options by any of our breakfast staff.

We are very pleased to hear that despite a slight disapointment with the breakfast, you had an enjoyable stay with us. And look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Agne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

I would have given three and a half stars but that is not an option on here.

There were not many negatives to mention. It started badly with check in and we were kept waiting for quite a while with unapologetic (almost to the point of rudeness) staff on the front desk. With our 19 month old daughter in tow this was not overly pleasing. The other minus point is that the parking directly across the road is very expensive should you wish to stay for a few nights like we did (3 in total). I found cheaper parking (but still paid £30 for the duration of our stay) and this was about 8 mins walk from the hotel near the sea front.

Having mentioned the negatives, I feel the positives far outweighed them which is why I have given a good rating. After checking in I found the rest of the staff very helpful and friendly. As we had our baby with us we needed to keep milk in a fridge. There are no fridges in the rooms but they were happy to keep our milk and yogurts in a labelled bag in the kitchen fridge on the 1st floor. It was always easy to access with staff on hand to retrieve said dairy products as and when required.

The room was very spacious and clean and was cleaned to satisfaction daily during our stay. The bathroom was pretty small and it would be nice if it was bigger but I suppose that is partly why the rooms are a nice size. The TV was rubbish though and only seemed to work properly when turned at an angle but luckily this was not a make or break issue for us.

Breakfast was included and although I have had better I have no complaints about its quality. There is a cooked breakfast buffet with continental options. If you require fried or poached eggs then they make that to order for you. Breakfast is served in the main restaurant area which has pretty awesome views of the sea and Southend Pier. I really enjoyed the views every morning whilst we dined. This is also where the bar is located so you can have a drink there whilst admiring the views of an evening. There is also a balcony that you can walk on but it is not big enough for chairs and tables unfortunately.

In summary I would say the Park Inn is a good quality hotel that I would happily recommend to others. It is family friendly and very well located with the seafront literally on the doorstep (literally a couple of mins walk).

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarcAtk1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear MarcAtk1979,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay feedback on the online forum.

We thank you for your comments and take on board your constructive feedback points.

We are very pleased to hear that despite a couple of disappointments, you had an enjoyable stay with us. And look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Agne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We had a long weekend in southend taking the two children and using a family room. On our arrival there were the previous childrens finger prints all over the window, crumbs and dust under the childrens bed, spiders and webs in the corners of the room by the windows,stained carpet and the safe was broken so we couldnt use it. We stayed 2 nights and after the first night, housekeeping made our beds but did not hoover or clean the shower room. The phobe rung in the middle of the night disturbing our toddler. The location is great but the price you pay for it is over the top. Parking is atrocious. £15 a day and you have a fight to even get in the car park as its always full. The breakfast was really nice and the bar and restaurant was good but i couldnt help but worry if their hygiene in the kitchen was as bad as housekeeping? I would not stay there again especially considering you can stay in a 4* or 5* hotel for the same price somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msCarreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear msCarreira,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay feedback on the online forum.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay experience.

We thank you for your comments and take on board your constructive feedback points. And we will certainly use it to fine tune our operations and customer service.

Best regards,
Agne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Rooms are spacious and clean, staff are friendly and helpful. I did not try the restaurant but the hotel is in a perfect location in town, opposite shopping centre, seaside, funfair and the main high street with lots of restaurants and cafes. Definitely worth it! However I experienced one problem: the parking. There is a discount for users of the hotel but it remains very expensive (15 pounds for one day) and there is a long queue to actually reach the car park.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the seaside which was fantastic during the day but a bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marie-Berteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Marie_Berteau,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay fedback on the online forum.

We thank you for your kindcomments and take on board your constructive feedback points about the parking facilities.

And we hope to see you returning to the hotel when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards,
Agne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many radisson affiliated places and surprised they associate their name with this place.

Little things irritate me and easily addressed. Reception had only 1 person on in August? Really?

No parking for large wheel base vehicle.

Tiny bathroom, shared sea room view which they charge an extra cool £25 for!! Dated decor and minimal facilities.

Breakfast? Rubbish, shared not thought out buffet which possibility of several other hands touching what you dare put on your plate before you do.

Lucky to scrape 3-10.

Better off in a decent family run B&B

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank Dudders15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Dudders15,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay feedback on the online forum.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay experience.

We thank you for your comments and take on board your constructive feedback points. And we will certainly use it to fine tune our operations and customer service.

Best regards,
Agne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Fantastic location with great views of the sea and Adventure Island. The room however, was very disappointing and lacked cleanliness. Stained carpet which didn't appear to have been vacuumed properly, if at all. Windows were covered in children's hand marks and some of the furniture was covered in visible amounts of dust and fluff and generally un-clean. On a good note, the reception and restaurant staff were exceptional and couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Joanne B,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay feedback on the online forum.

We are very sorry to hear about poor bedroom cleanliness and we will certainly address your comments with our Houskeeping team.

We hope that despite the disappointment with your bedroom you had an enjoyable time in Southend-on-Sea and look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards,
Agne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
653 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,690 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
544 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#3 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Address: Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $72 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing