We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
North East
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here on business for one night and the location is good just 5 minutes from the station and on the sea front.On check in I asked for a quiet room with a sea view and was told no sea view available as the hotel was full. I was given a room facing the car park on the 4th floor. Room was quite large due being suitable for disabled access (not requested) The bathroom was huge but a wet room without a bath. The shower was very low forcing me to crouch and Water pressure was poor with the design of the room resulting in water everywhere and very slow to drain away. No toiletries other than soap were provided. Bed was very hard but bedding and linen clean. Towels were a bit rough to the touch. The air con very noisy so I had to turn it off. Breakfast was very busy but only average with the usual cereals, fruit and meats. Cooked items looked greasy so I didn't try anything. As a vegetarian there was limited choice but to be fair I didn't ask if there was anything else on offer. I had cereal and toast with tea which was brought to the table. Check out was ok but the whole experience was nothing out of the ordinary and I doubt I will stay again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor but don't expect a sea view unless you pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    425
    228
    73
    80
See reviews for
247
429
42
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our stay at the park in was marvelous. The staff were very professional and courteous. The place was very modern and nice looking. I especially want to commend on Tomasz from the park inn staff. Tomasz gave outstanding service and gets 5 stars for hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were generally impressed with this hotel. One thing that stands out is the customer service which is consistently good - staff were always friendly and helpful despite it being a very busy weekend with the hotel full.

We had a large business class room on the 4th floor which has great sea/pier views. You do get a bit of noise from attractions on the pier but I thought that just added to the pleasant atmosphere. We slept well, the bed was very comfortable.

The only problem with the room was that it was a wi-fi blackspot - the signal stopped in the hallway. Given this was supposed to be a business class room I would have expected they would have had boosters in appropriate places. Mobile phone coverage was patchy in the hotel, so if you need to be connected this might be a problem.

Breakfast was excellent and the restaurant also has good views.

The hotel has no car park, it does have an overnight deal with the car park opposite, but bewarned - leave after 9am and you'll have to pay £15 - so quite expensive.

Room Tip: High floor, facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Without doubt the worst hotel i have had the mis fortune to stay at in the last ten years. The receptionist of I think Eastern European descent needs sacking. The restaurant was closed on Sunday evenings. The sea view room booked and paid for was not forthcoming nor a refund and it cost £99. for a fourth rate hotel full of rude staff. the bedding was unclean, the bar food we eventually received made two of my party have the scoots. Its incredible this place is still allowed to be open. Its dreadful. T top it all the sea view we did see from the bar area is probably the worst sea view in England.

Room Tip: Dont choose any room, choose another location. the receptionist is like someone from another planet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Davidsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southend-on-Sea hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here this weekend and we had a great long weekend (The weather was just amazing)
We have never been to Southend on Sea before and were looking forward to the stay, First thing the Hotel itself is on the promenade and has great Views of the pier and sea, if you upgrade to a Business friendly room it is well worth the price, very large rooms and as I said earlier great views!!! Very clean and tidy and well kept decor and the bar is very well laid out.

Room Tip: Always try and upgrade to a business friendly Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed there for two nights for a wedding to be held at the end of the pier.I was pleasantly surprised by Southend and enjoyed walking around and the ride down the pier to the Cultural centre where the wedding was held.

The hotel is huge and dates back to 1904 although apart from pictures in the public rooms showing old photos of the Edwardian era,it is ultra modern and decorated in the corporate colours of Park inn which are primary colours.Public rooms are orange and red with the bedrooms have blue cushions and a runner across the bed in Park inn logo colours of blue ,orange and green. While I think it is a shame that there is no real keeping of the past glory of the hotel except an original fire place and columns off the bar,I appreciate it is for families and business men who are likely to stay only one or two nights.
We has a room overlooking the pier and funfair and high up so not noisy.Room was clean fairly large with a very small but adequate bathroom with a big shower .Only one set of towels ,other set are in the only drawer in the room. The furniture in the room is module with many cubes to put things on or under.Everything is in show in the room as there is no wardrobe ,just 2 short rails off the wall and 6 hangers. There are no drawers (except the one mentioned and you have to bend down to get in it.) and no cupboards. It makes the room look untidy with everything spread on surfaces .Our room could have easily had a wardrobe. On the positive side ,the room had air con, tea and coffee making facilities ,a safe and a decent TV.

Food in the restaurant,was large portions and very tasty.We had lunch and evening meal and enjoyed the view of the pier from the large room..We also had room service which arrived very quickly and hot. Breakfast was a buffet and was fine except for the scrambled eggs which has been widely commented upon by other reviewers! Note to hotel ,please change the way you do the scrambled eggs ,they are white and so watery with no taste .All the reviews cannot be wrong. Also they need to do fried eggs ,they only do scrambled or boiled .

Another thing is the parking opposite the hotel in the shopping centre car park ,it is expensive if you are not planning to use the car as we weren't.The hotel discount means its five pounds per night 5pm-8am but other hrs are charged separately so our stay of 2 days meant a charge of £26 .

However what made the stay so good was the lovely staff ,at reception ,restaurant and bar, they could not do enough to help people and were always polite and friendly.

In summary this is a three star hotel geared for a couple of nights stay. If you are going to Southend for pleasure or business I would recommend it for its location,good service and great staff.

Room Tip: Sea view and high up .Corner rooms with balcony looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank violetta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Popped in here for a drink and look around as we are checking out future places to stay. It's a shame, as although they have clearly spent alot of money on the refurb, this place left me feeling cold. For a Friday night, this place was empty! No atmosphere, overly bright lighting and uncomfortable seats. Tables had not been wiped down and dirty plates left on table. This was a poor show as they clearly weren't busy with plenty of bar staff standing around chatting.Husband ordered a pint and was given the wrong type - turned out they had put the wrong barrel on the pump! Would not return, even for a drink, and would certainly not stay as overall very bad first impression....shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jules875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Address: Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing