We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Not been to south-end for 20 years! This hotel is outstanding. Lovely rooms, Breakfast was wonderful. Excellent value. Could not ask for more. Owners very welcoming. Would recommend without reservation. Will go back without doubt.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony room - take your own wine and enjoy the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaKCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    41
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
153
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just stumbled across it Can't fault this place ..wonderful location on a lovely street , sea views , great old building , spotless , good taste , excellent breakfast...freshest of fresh fruit , staff very helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blazeboyo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday evening and had the Balcony suite. Our friends also joined us.
John and his lovely ladies made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed our room very much. Spotlessly clean, ok bathroom could have been bigger but everything there and shower was great.
Breakfast was made to order with a selection of cereals, fruit and juices.
Thanks to our very dear friends for inviting us.
When it's good it's good and that is Hamiltons for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blazeboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very comfortable, tastefully decorated and furnished. Friendly, attentive staff. Excellent breakfast. My advice is to park behind in the Alexandra St. car park as getting a place outside the hotel is a bit hit and miss. We'll be back - in fact we've already booked for September.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitorfromBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our 2nd stay at this wonderful hotel and we are looking forward to the next. We originally stayed in the Lady Hamilton Room and the last in Nelsons Lookout. Both are tastefully decorated, exceptionally clean, plenty of tea/coffee/milk in both rooms and the breakfast is certainly a favourite of mine!
A great location on the seafront, close to the local attractions and on the door step of the High St. Parking is available outside, but a there is a car park directly behind if no spaces are available. I'm sure you will enjoy your stay and won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayrossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a lovely hotel. Everything you need to make your stay perfect. The family that run it are very helpful and nothing is to much trouble. Rooms are decorated beautiful. The breakfast is excellent. What can we say more! We visit Southend frequently as my partner's business is in Southend... we will definately be choosing to stay here again. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here with my mum for two nights and I cant thought a thing its perfect. The Family that run this hotel make you feel welcome and relaxed from the moment you walk through there door. The hotel is beautifully decorated and clean it feels very warm and welcoming. The room we stayed in was perfect very clean and beautifully decorated and looked after and it smelt lovely. There was a tea tray with kettle, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, water and biscuits. Our room was replenished each day with clean towels and anything used off our tea tray. Breakfast was lovely as was the dinning room. We will be staying here again, It was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fibeelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing