We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back - in fact we've already booked ..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“We'll be back - in fact we've already booked ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very comfortable, tastefully decorated and furnished. Friendly, attentive staff. Excellent breakfast. My advice is to park behind in the Alexandra St. car park as getting a place outside the hotel is a bit hit and miss. We'll be back - in fact we've already booked for September.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitorfromBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    41
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
149
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our 2nd stay at this wonderful hotel and we are looking forward to the next. We originally stayed in the Lady Hamilton Room and the last in Nelsons Lookout. Both are tastefully decorated, exceptionally clean, plenty of tea/coffee/milk in both rooms and the breakfast is certainly a favourite of mine!
A great location on the seafront, close to the local attractions and on the door step of the High St. Parking is available outside, but a there is a car park directly behind if no spaces are available. I'm sure you will enjoy your stay and won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayrossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a lovely hotel. Everything you need to make your stay perfect. The family that run it are very helpful and nothing is to much trouble. Rooms are decorated beautiful. The breakfast is excellent. What can we say more! We visit Southend frequently as my partner's business is in Southend... we will definately be choosing to stay here again. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here with my mum for two nights and I cant thought a thing its perfect. The Family that run this hotel make you feel welcome and relaxed from the moment you walk through there door. The hotel is beautifully decorated and clean it feels very warm and welcoming. The room we stayed in was perfect very clean and beautifully decorated and looked after and it smelt lovely. There was a tea tray with kettle, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, water and biscuits. Our room was replenished each day with clean towels and anything used off our tea tray. Breakfast was lovely as was the dinning room. We will be staying here again, It was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fibeelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent the weekend of 7th to 9th June at this wonderful little hotel in Southend. It was our first time at this hotel and we were not disappointed. Having read all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor we thought we'd see if we could get a last-minute booking. Thankfully we were lucky on this occasion and had the room called 'Nelson's Lookout'. This room is at the top of the hotel and once you have walked up the stairs to the room .....wow, the views from the window over the Thames Estuary and the pier and gardens down below on the seafront make the climb worthwhile! The rooom was very clean, beautifully furnished and decorated to a very high standard indeed, and the ensuite had the most fantastic shower! The tea and coffee making facilities had a choice of various teas and a jar of coffee, plenty of milk, bottles of mineral water each day and complementary biscuits. The breakfast was excellent and individually cooked and prepared. There was good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juice and yogurts. The owners go out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. I meant to say that they even took our cases up to our room on arrival. There is car parking at the front of the hotel and a large public car park to the rear of the hotel (there is a charge for parking, but as this is a very popular seaside resort it's not unusual and the charges were not exorbitant). Because the hotel is so well situated we didn't need to use our car all weekend as the shops and the front are just minutes walk away. We would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superdave123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night, for a short seaside break, weather wasnt good, but this lovely hotel made up for this. We stayed in Nelsons Lookout, an attic room, bit of a climb up, but a delightful pretty room, peaceful and private!! The entire hotel smelt beautiful and was spotlessy clean. Most room doors on way up were open, as they were unattended at the time, so we could take a peek at how nice the other rooms were too.
The bed was king size and so comfortable with beautiful egyptian white linen sheets which again smelt devine! The bathroom also really nice, and there was a sweet little breakfast tray with small jars of coffee and tea ( no sachets!).
The owner was a very nice lady,smart and happy, she told us about the area and recommended Old Leigh a quaint harbour village,about 15 minute drive away, which was very pretty , nice oldie pubs and little shops very nice.
Breakfast was great, we went for full english , presented on white china plates and linen serviettes, all beautifully laid out. There was also cereals and fresh fruit and juices avaiable with yoghurts, spoilt for choice reallly!! We opted for full english after a night out around local pubs!!
We would definalty stay here again , the break was so relaxing and made even better by staying at this charming hotel.

Room Tip: Our room Nelson Lookout was peaceful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindanorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here in may for our pre wedding day and wedding night and we couldn't of asked for anything more. The staff were extremely welcoming and the hotel itself has a pleasant homely feel to it. We stayed in the balcony suite which was beautiful and the room facilities were perfect. They even got us a congratulations card and aloud us to have breakfast In our room the next morning. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so special. From mr and mrs Dover

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing