We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just brilliant - you won't get better in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just brilliant - you won't get better in the area”
Reviewed April 28, 2009

I've stayed at Pier View around 3 nights a week for the last few months and it has been superb. Ed and Barbara (owners) are delightful and their team are terrific. Pier View manages to be a boutique hotel kind of place, without any stuffiness whatsoever. They will also bend over backwards to accommodate your wants and needs.

I've always stayed as a business traveller, but would happily bring my husband here for a weekend and recommend to family, friends and colleagues as I already have done. Try it for yourself - as the other reviews here suggest, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyshoes41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    28
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
131
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

After a long drive from Devon it was great to arrive in Southend on a lovely crisp sunny afternoon.

We eventually found the hotel (after a maze of one way streets) and parked right outside the hotel (charges apply and this is the most expensive place to park until 6pm - if you park there daily rate is £13. The car park around the corner is £10 all day. I don't know how much it is to park in The Royals car park). This place really needs a park and ride.

The owner of the hotel greeted us at the door and after the usual formalties showed us to our room - Lady Hamilton.

This room is very spacious and is on the ground floor. It has two large windows and overlooks the pier. Don't worry about being seen from the street - you won't be as there are lovely blinds covering the windows (but be aware at night time that you will be seen if you don't close the curtains and the lights are on).

The bathroom is more than adequate - a lovely shower with plenty of hot water. Shampoo and shower gel are provided. Be aware that the shower tray gets quite slippery when wet (maybe the owner could provide a non-slip mat if this was brought to their attention).

Tea and coffee making facilities are also provided which was welcome after a long drive (de-caf coffee too).

The bed was lovely and comfortable with plenty of pillows. Now this is down to personal choice but I found the pillows too soft. The room was quite warm too as it catches the sun and the heating was on, so we had to turn this off.

The guest house is situated literally round the corner from the shopping. The place is alive in the daytime and then again at night - most of the people tended to be at the very top of the shopping areas as this is where most of the restaurants were - would recommend Bella Italia and Nandos.

Overall a very pleasant experience and if in the area again would probably stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joby_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2009

I stayed at the Pier view for a weekend away from the stress of the city, but I never thought I could find a place with such a home-y feeling all along with superb quality.
The room, even being a single one, was perfectly equipped with everything, even a flatscreen freeview tv, and the view was really astonishing directly onto the sea and the pier.
The service was just perfect, I was given advices on places to go around, had been offered coffee in the morning even if i was out of the breakfast hours, and all in all had the time for a nice chat with the lovely family who runs the hotel.

hadn't had such a great leisure experience in a long time!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheentylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2009

Competitively priced for the quality of the property, with wifi access free of charge. My room was elegantly presented with a gorgeous, comfortable bed. Perfect location for staying in Southend, overlooking the pier and with the town's restaurants / shops just around the corner. The owners - Ed & Barbara - were friendly and co-operative throughout my stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BlueMonday1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2009

I have spent weekend in Pier View 6 times already as I study in Essex Institute for Psychotherapy. I am a foreigner who experienced a lot of Hotels but none like this in UK. For that price for sure.It is so clean that you fell like very first client there. Very cosy, fine decor , really beautiful place to calm down stress.The carpet fells so soft that I saw guests coming for breakfast just in socks.Breakfast is often with fresh fruit already cut and prepared like grapes, strawberries, pineapple, cakes..coffee or juices..People working there are very helpful and nice, I once forgot my jacket as I was leaving and they contacted me on my mobile and e-mail. Well, I just hope I will still find a vacancy for myself.. ((-:

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank evaticha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Booked on the strength of other tripadvisor reviews and the guesthouse's own website. Our experience was exactly as I had expected, friendly efficient owners, comfortable, spotless and tasteful rooms, excellent breakfast and perfect location. Great value for money and no complaints at all.

My only issue is that this isn't rocket science, so why aren't there more b&bs in the uk like this?

  • Liked — The tasteful decoration and fittings in the room/ensuite
  • Disliked — The front door security relys on other guests setting it correctly and we got inadvertantly locked out. The owner resolved the problem immediately though.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MissPhirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2008

I have stayed at the Pier View twice and both times wished I could stay for longer. It's a delightful place. Ed and Barbara are friendly and warm. Breakfast is simple but delicious. The view is great, but best of all are the rooms themselves. Comfy beds, sumptious pillows, eqyptian cotton sheets and cosy throws make for a good nights sleep, but its the seemless mix of modern and traditional in the beautifully decorated rooms that really excites. Muted blues, bright creams and black and white bathrooms give it a fresh, clean and relaxing feel. Its cheap as chips as well. Given some of the hovels I have stayed in for over £100 at £60 a night Pier View is a bargain. I can't wait to go back, not to mention that Adventure Island is calling!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Faydec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments

Property: Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Address: 5 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Self-catering luxury apartments located in the beautiful conservation area in central Southend, overlooking the world-famous pleasure Pier. The apartments are set in a historical Georgian building, a unique property with a refined ambience, full of character with modern comforts and technology. The one bedroom self-catering apartments all have fully equipped kitchens including an induction hob, dishwasher and fridge with ice box. There are also LCD televisions, Blue Ray/DVD Players and a music system in each lounge. Bedrooms are located at the front of the property as is the communal lounge with its spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier View Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing