We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect traditional family style hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect traditional family style hotel”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed at the 'Pier view' 31/01/14. This hotel is in the perfect position with regards proximity to shopping area, but more impressively was the amazing view of the seaside and Southend pier. The hotel staff were very warm and friendly and led to a homely, family feel to my stay. The breakfast was continental style with a large choice, and all very fresh. I would strongly recommend this hotel. In fact, this is the first time that I have been compelled to enter a review from any, of my many previous hotel stays.

Room Tip: Obviously, a sea view is a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theav01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    28
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
132
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely hotel at an excellent location. The owners are very nice, rooms are clean and cosy. The view on the pier is breathtaking. The attendants are always happy to help, share their experience. The cheese at the breakfast was very good (and I am picky). We will come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matrix2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed here for one night with family in the summer. The owners very welcoming. The room charming and very clean with a great sea view. The breakfast room beautiful too. If passing through Southend again I would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaS898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I spent 2 days at Pier View in Southend with my partner for his Birthday and have to say it was a fantastic experience. The B&B is a lovely place and all the staff and the owner where incredibly attentive and helpful. Having not been to Southend before I would love to go back for another visit and will certainly be staying at Pier View again as it was such a pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaJThorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in November and the reviews on tripadvisor were great so we were expecting great things. Due to unforeseen circumstances we were late arriving and were very tired so we just went to bed. Our room was on the ground floor, facing the street and next to the front door. However, the room got very hot during the night although the radiators were cold when we got there and our attempts to open the secondary glazing and sash windows in the night were fruitless! Perhaps a fan in the room would be helpful - because the second night, we opened the window and were kept awake with loads of outside noise and comings/ goings through the front door. On a positive note the room was great- a bit dusty in the out-of-the-way spots, the bed huge and comfy and the continental breakfast expansive - although a bit predictable ( I have most of that in my kitchen to eat for breakfast!) The Saniflo system in the bathroom was noisy but I understand the need for it.
The staff were fantastic, friendly and informative and I have to say very sorry for our poor nights sleep on the Saturday when another Hotel's music kept us awake until gone 4:00. We are providing evidence for a complaint against the that Hotel with the Council. The owners of Pier View could not have done more to make things better for us. We loved Southend too - so much more than we expected. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for not to be put in the Lady Hamilton - the ground floor location and next to the front door di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeymooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Me and my partner stayed in the princess caroline room for two nights. Where do I start... The staff were very welcoming and friendly, The room and the view were beaitiful. The attention to detail was second to none and we were so well looked after. The food was delicious and set out beautifully I really have nothing negative thing to say apart from we wish we had found your guest house sooner. We cant wait for our next visit to the pier view . Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

we stayed at the pier view in southend for 1 night in september it was very nice we arrived earlier than we should have but that didnot seem to be a problem the gentleman who answered the door was very polite and helpful even carried my night case to the room for me were shown how to work the lock on the front door and were left to get ready for our party at a friends house the room was very clean and comfortable no complaints about anything next morning we had breakfast which was good continential food all kinds of fruit juices and the staff was polite and helpful will stay there again next time we are in southend

Room Tip: rooms at the back are nice and quiet make sure you can park if comeing by car as it was pot luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
589 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments

Property: Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Address: 5 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Self-catering luxury apartments located in the beautiful conservation area in central Southend, overlooking the world-famous pleasure Pier. The apartments are set in a historical Georgian building, a unique property with a refined ambience, full of character with modern comforts and technology. The one bedroom self-catering apartments all have fully equipped kitchens including an induction hob, dishwasher and fridge with ice box. There are also LCD televisions, Blue Ray/DVD Players and a music system in each lounge. Bedrooms are located at the front of the property as is the communal lounge with its spectacular views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pier View Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing