We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent guesthouse”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A truly lovely guesthouse in a great location with an excellent sea view. The staff were really friendly and very welcoming. The continental breakfast had a vast selection and kept us full for the majority of the day. We will definitely stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    28
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
132
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can highly recommend this hotel. Although we only stayed one night with them, we surely will be back on our next stop-over from belfast.
Very friendly owners, very clean and comfortable rooms. Superb breakfast with large variety. Loved it. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I booked two rooms for my family to stay the night of my wedding. Ed & Barbara were great they had the rooms ready early so my family could get ready. The rooms were lovely, clean & very comfortable. Prefect location too, my two young nephews loved that they could see the sea!!!
I would definitely book again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a wonderful B&B - more like a hotel. Elegant, clean, and a fabulous view. The continental breakfast was delicious. We weren't sure where to eat in Southend, and I'm a vegetarian. The owner not only recommended a few restaurants that would suit, but also printed out menus for us. We were also able to leave out bags the next day until we were ready to catch our train. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Princess Caroline room - huge bed! Although it faced the front, the noise was minimal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at pier view for the last 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very clean and the bed was lovely and comfortable. Loads of nice extra touches that go above and beyond a normal b&b and the service was very sweet and helpful throughout. Location is perfect right on the seafront and high street. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahcruze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went to Southend to visit a friend and chose Pier View from the info available online. It is ideally situated and very clean and comfortable. Other reviews have already mentioned how friendly the owner/staff are. They are absolutely right!! We stayed in the Prince Regent room which was adequate for us for a night. It was spotlessly clean. We did not find parking to be a problem, fortunately finding on street parking right outside on each occasion that we needed it :) The breakfast was great, plenty of choice and every little detail thought of! The quality was good too, very nice way to begin the day.
If we were to return to Southend, Pier View would be our first choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clocktowerclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The staff at Pier View are so friendly and nothing is a problem. We had one room on the ground floor, the Lady Hamilton room and the Pier View room on the top floor. We had help getting our suitcase to the top room as it is quite steep. The rooms were nicely furnished and clean. I would recommend the Lady Hamilton room as it was easy to access and felt more spacious with high ceilings. The Pier View room has a great view but feels smaller and the window is quite small. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection and the lady even asked how our room was and how we had slept. The balcony of the dining room was great for a cup of tea in the afternoon, with nice views over the sea and pier. We had a lovely chat with the owner and he offered us biscuits as well. The location is great and we would definitely stay here again if in Southend. Thank you to the staff for making our stay a memorable one. Just one thing is the parking, with free parking from 6pm to 9am in the street and outside of that you have to remember to put money in the meter, but the staff reminded us as well.

Room Tip: Lady Hamilton room on the ground floor is easy to access and has a spacious feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33LaurenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments

Property: Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Address: 5 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Self-catering luxury apartments located in the beautiful conservation area in central Southend, overlooking the world-famous pleasure Pier. The apartments are set in a historical Georgian building, a unique property with a refined ambience, full of character with modern comforts and technology. The one bedroom self-catering apartments all have fully equipped kitchens including an induction hob, dishwasher and fridge with ice box. There are also LCD televisions, Blue Ray/DVD Players and a music system in each lounge. Bedrooms are located at the front of the property as is the communal lounge with its spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier View Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing