We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pier View in the snow !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pier View in the snow !”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We came down from London for a birthday party on a bitterly cold afternoon. Pier View is on a lovely street and the warm welcome soon made us forget the cold outside. After the party we awoke in the morning to a lovely view with far more snow than we anticipated. A good breakfast and some strong coffee and ready to try and get home. Ed was great at this point. Broom at the ready and car swept. Great service, cosy hotel, would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a Seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamonHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    28
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
132
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We enjoyed our third stay at the Pier View (in Sept 2011) every bit as much as we did previously. The owners and their team again treated us more like friends than hotel guests, and could not have made us more welcome. Being elderly we preferred to stay on the ground floor, but having been shown some of the other rooms we can say that they are all beautifully furnished throughout, and very comfortable. Breakfast in the bright and cheerful dining room was perfect with a lot of choice, including fresh fruit beautifully prepared, as well as everything else to make up a very satisfying Continental breakfast. The High Street is only a couple of minutes walk away, but we were more than happy to spend time sat on the balcony overlooking the seafront and pier, drinking a complementary coffe or cold drink. Our fourth visit cannot come soon enough!

Room Tip: Sea Views good, but if only rear views available these are still acceptable, overlooking the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinandArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Pier view was an excellent choice to make as our base to revisit Southend on Sea. The location couldnt be better being next to the shopping, entertainment area, the pier (of course) and the Georgian terraces. Pier View (The Princess Caroline room) was very comfortable with a large bed , area for sitting and lovely views over the estuary from the sash windows. The bathroom was neat and clean. Breakfast (though Continental) was plentiful, varied and fresh. Coffee was strong! Ed was a fount of knowledge and was helpful in suggesting an excellent wine Bar (Pipe of Port) and walks from the Guest House. Parking was easy right outside the door. We'd definitely return. We felt valued and comfortable at all times.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

WE chose Pier View as the perfect place to spend our wedding night as it seemed just perfect for our Southend themed wedding! We were not disappointed. The room was lovely, staff very accomodating with taking our luggage early in the day etc and we were greeted with a lovely card and box of chocolates from the team. A lovely little touch! The view was fantastic and owner was really very lovely and keen to hear about our day etc. We were recommended pier view and would definately recommend to others. A perfect example of a boutique, family run guest house. Would definately stay again!

Room Tip: Princess Caroline Room for your perfect Pier View and for feeling like you're in a by gone age!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends and family in Southend. I cannot fault the accommodation nor the service - it is a lovely place to stay! In terms of cleanliness it was immaculate and I am hard to please! The owner went out of his way to make us feel welcome and kept our luggage for us when we checked out so we could wander around the area before leaving. Make sure you get up in time for breakfast as it is worth it. I imagine this place is a great choice for older visitors however as a young couple we really enjoyed it and will come again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our second visit, certainly not our last. Immaculate accommodation, service, etc. A family run guest house with customer care second to none. In our view the best accommodation for a relaxed stay in Southend on Sea. For a continental breakfast of this standard you are talking 5 star. It was nice to feel so welcomed by the owner and other staff as though we were old friends. Highly recommended. We will be back

Room Tip: Plenty of choice but discuss your needs when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidney w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The Peir View certainly ticks all the boxes. The accomodation is beautiful and location is fantastic.. Ed, Barbara and the team have certainly got everything right. It was such a pleasurable stay, and wish we could have stayed for longer. Thank you to you all, and we cant wait to come back. Absolutely Perfect in Every Way.

Room Tip: Cant recommend the Pier View Highly Enough, it is truly amazing, you wont be disappointed in any way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyHolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
591 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments

Property: Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Address: 5 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Self-catering luxury apartments located in the beautiful conservation area in central Southend, overlooking the world-famous pleasure Pier. The apartments are set in a historical Georgian building, a unique property with a refined ambience, full of character with modern comforts and technology. The one bedroom self-catering apartments all have fully equipped kitchens including an induction hob, dishwasher and fridge with ice box. There are also LCD televisions, Blue Ray/DVD Players and a music system in each lounge. Bedrooms are located at the front of the property as is the communal lounge with its spectacular views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pier View Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing