We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant quick fix!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl Dragon

Pearl Dragon
Ranked #41 of 643 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $69
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southend-on-Sea, Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant quick fix!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I came here for a quick but value for money Chinese.
I had been here many times before and I enjoy it every time! The noodle bar is where I also go and the service is polite quick and the food is exactly how I expect.
Well worth a visit for a quality quick fix.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    53
    22
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had dinner here on Saturday night with friends who live locally. The food was excellent - not greasy, hot and lots of choice. Its not the cheapest chinese ever and drinks seemed to add up pretty quickly. However would definietly recommend if in the area and looking for a decent chinese meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizzieL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best Chinese Take Away in Town (probably)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The restaurant is consitently good, but a tad pricey, however, the adjoining takeaway is excellent. They do deliver but it's great to go and watch the food being cooked in front of you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anniemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Watch your bill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Pearl Dragon is by far my favourite Chinese restaurant in the area and the quality of food is usually very good but I take exception to being charged service charge and then asked again if I would like to add a gratuity when it comes to chip n pin time. You have been warned!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeyEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dim Sum Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Go here to sample the dim sum menu. If you're a tourist in London you could do worse than getting the train to Southend for the day, taking a trip up the world famous pier and then heading along the front to this place.

They say you know it's a good Chinese restaurant if you see other Chinese people eating there and on a Sunday afternoon you'll see more Chinese people in one place than you will have anywhere else (apart from China of course!).

Seriously, the dim sum menu is something to be experienced if you think you like Chinese food. The staff will talk you through it and make good recommendations on what to try.

Did I mention you should try the dim sum menu? It's awesome!

Helpful?
Thank Budgie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Dragon also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Pearl Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing