We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wheatsheaf Barn

Entrance and Guest Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and Guest Terrace
Open plan dining area Set for Dinner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Entrance and Guest Terrace
Open plan dining area
Set for Dinner
Sitting room with wood burner
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from the balcony
Wheatsheaf Barn
Balcony sitting area with sofa bed
Looking through to the courtyard
From the courtyard door
Bedroom 1 set up with Super-king bed
Bedroom 1 set up with two singles
Arts and Crafts bedroom
Red Bedroom
Wood!!! The landing corridor.
Full Height from the landing.
Laundry (which is upstairs).
Downstairs room with chair beds and door through to boot room and shower.
Additional ensuite bedrooms are available in the owner's house across the courtyard.
The other holiday let in the village- Grayson Perry's 'house for Essex'.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Manningtree, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katie B
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I recently visited this barn for my Hen do, with 9 ladies in total!

This is the most beautiful barn, in a wonderful setting and ideal for any type of get away. Everything about the accommodation is perfect, from the huge American fridge, to the jacuzzi bath and every little detail has been thought of from handwash to candles, a homemade cake on arrival and a chilling wine fridge!

Everywhere was beautifully clean and towels and bedding where of very good quality.
I cant say a big enough thank you to Janet and her husband who were incredibly helpful and respectful throughout our stay - even on informing them that we were going to take an afternoon stroll we were quickly presented with a printed Tide Times Table to help us plan our walk around the beach. They also recommended Lucca's restaurant in Manningtree where i had the best pizza i have ever eaten!

I cant wait to visit again in the near future, and i will be sure to recommend your barn to everyone!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How relaxing it was, how kind the owners where and how every little detail had been thought of!
Liked least: The pool cue could do to be replaced.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandraeag...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place but could do with being cleaner”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Wheatsheaf Barn is a lovely place in a great quite area, the locals are really friendly and helpful, the cake the owners left for us was delicious, but we felt the cleaning was not up to standard for a place costing this amount, the oven was dirty and bathrooms grubby. and all the windows and glass on the staircase needed a good clean.

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2014
I am pleased that there was a lot that you liked about Wheatsheaf Barn but I am extremely sorry that you were disappointed in the cleanliness. Fair to say that the change over before you came had not gone well! The previous people left very late, giving us a scant two hours instead of the usual four to do the change over including the reception of your shopping. We want to avoid this happening again so we have already amended booking in and departure times. If you were to book again then we will give a discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
Reviewed March 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How beautiful the building was - so modern and spacious
Liked least: A bit cold upstairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lauren M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

From my initial enquiry up until the moment we left, Janet and Tony ensured our stay at Wheatsheaf Barn was perfect. We were welcomed unexpectedly at the station by Janet who had also left us a homemade cake at the house. They even offered to pick our friends up from the station later in the evening.

The barn itself is wonderful, the perfect mix of homliness and modernity, with lots of space for families with children or large groups of friends with dogs such as ourselves. With a log burner and a big open plan downstairs, it was the perfect weekend break filled with walks on the local beach and in the surrounding woods.

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosty201...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Want a stress free family Xmas?.....book the barn”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I live in Australia and rented the barn for a homecoming with my brother and sister in law along with 12 week old niece and 2 dogs. We rented for 8 days and had numerous visitors over the time we were there. The place immediately felt like home and we did not want to leave. There is so much space that nobody was on top of each other and if you want a bit of peace you can sit on the mezzanine and chill looking at the fantastic view or in the games room having a read. The place is so well equipped we had 12 for dinner Xmas day and it was a breeze. I would highly recommend the barn for Xmas and at any other time of the year. I have a funny feeling that Xmas will be booked already for 2013 as everyone that stayed wanted to book it.....

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the space
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda w
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed for New Year's Eve with friends and family 11 in total. Janet and tony are friendly warm and welcoming. There place is stunning, clean, comfortable, warm with all modcons. Everything you needed all under a huge roof ! Beautiful nature walk and friendly locals. I had the craft room which the bed was so soft I didn't want to get out of it. Showers and toilets all over the barn so no waiting around seating in all areas so we could all relax without being on top of each other. Sound proofing really good and slept like a log. Didn't find a local pub but we really didn't want to leave the barn with the log fire and champagne cooling and one of Janet's home made mince pies we was set for the stay. Janet and tony also accommodated a couple of extra guest for New Year's Eve which we was great full for.
Would return again and again and would highly recommend. They have a truly beautiful home.

Date of stay: December 2012
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgopink
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic barn, great location, wouldnt hesitate to recommend to anyone!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at Wheatsheaf Barn for a hen weekend. There were 9 of us in total and as one of the organisers, I was delighted with our choice of accommodation! It's a brilliant spot. The barn itself is a great building - huge inside and not overlooked by the owners but they are close at hand and very willing to help out if required. The interior has been completed to a high spec and it felt really comfortable to stay there for the weekend. We loved the fact it had a seperate wine coller fridge in the kitchen and a fridge with water cooler/ice dispencer. Almost all guests for the weekend were travelling from London and it is really convenient. We took the train to Wrabness and Janet, the owner, is very happy to assist with lifts from the station, although it is walkable too. We explored the local area on foot which is lovely - good walks and some useful suggestions from the owners - and used the BBQ and terrace too - we were very lucky with the weather! I would stay here again and I would definitely recommend for group holidays with family or friends.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing