We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two good meals at the Brantham Bull”
Review of The Brantham Bull

The Brantham Bull
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Manningtree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A beautiful 16th century pub and restaurant on the Essex/Suffolk border with stunning views of the garden and the River Stour. Offering traditional pub classics in a light and modern restaurant, it is perfect for a pub lunch, celebration or dinner with friends.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Two good meals at the Brantham Bull”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went to the Bull twice as I was part of a group staying nearby. Thoroughly enjoyed both meals, of excellent quality and reasonable value - in fact some of our portions were too big. Really enjoyed a main meal feta salad. Service was polite and efficient. Oh and the the Adnams was good also!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McCeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    84
    32
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal and great service!!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went for a meal in this lively, family friendly pub and I can't recommend it more. The meal was lovely, my rump steak was cooked to perfection! I'd just like to thank Taff our fantastic waitress who really made the meal! She's such a character! A* thanks a bunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richjka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“When the Chips are down, don't call me Shellfish!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Fish night; had the Lobster and it was ok but chips were pretty terrible. Service was average at best. Pocket was hit hard. Would I go again? Maybe. Will I have the Lobster again? No.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wink86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A surprising stop”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was surprised how big and busy the restaurant was on a lunch visit.
Had a good meal in nice surroundings, nothing exceptional but would happily stop there again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaun h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Myself and my wife used the bull for lunch on a Saturday afternoon,the food was fantastic as was the very friendly service.The eating area was very light and airy and had a really comfortable feel about it,There are tables in the really nice garden area along with a good child's play area.
All in all a really pleasant experience that I will definetely sample again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redarmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brantham Bull also viewed

 
Manningtree, Essex
Manningtree, Essex
 

Been to The Brantham Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing