We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curlews

Curlews
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manningtree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curlews
Ranked #2 of 5 Manningtree B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

What a great find this lovely b&b was. Our room was absolutely spotless, as was the very large ensuite bathroom, which had a bath and a seperate shower cubicle. The icing on the cake was the beautiful, large decked balcony,with spectacular views of the river.
The hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming, and made our short stay very special.
What can I say about the wonderful aga cooked breakfasts, that hasn't been said before? Homebaked bread, cakes, jams, full english,or salmon & scrambled eggs, freshly ground coffee, in fact anything that you fancy. All served in a lovely dining room overlooking a well stocked courtyard garden, and again great river views.
We will certainly look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biskit105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

From the moment my husband and I arrived at Curlews we knew we had come across somewhere very special. We had left it late to book a hotel for the weekend of our goddaughters wedding and took a chance with a last minute glance online with curlews. the gamble really paid off!!!!!
The hospitality,warmth and friendliness of the proprietors surpassed any 5* Hotel we have ever stayed in and believe me we have stayed in the best worldwide.

The breakfast was a banquet of home cooked wholesome hearty food an abundance of choice with an array of fresh fruit homemade jams and marmalade if I close my eyes I can still smell the slow roasting tomatoes with fresh thyme picked from the beautiful picturesque patio garden.

Curlews is full of love and passion which comes across from the wonderful couple running it every detail from the hand painted china to the homemade bread no stone was left unturned. A part of me wants to keep this little gem of paradise to myself but its rude not to share!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandineskitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Warm welcome, lovely views and tasty breakfast. All eventualities catered for. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindahart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellerlooi, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The luxury double en-suite, togethher with the spectacular views from your privat balcony over the river Stour gave us a royal feeling.
A warm reception and a delicious breakfast on both days were outstanding.
A pretty thing of minor importance is the fact that it is close to the ferry port in Harwich.
Summary: hospitable, clean, cosy etc, etc.

Room Tip: double and twin with balcony on the first floor
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HplusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Other reviewers have said it all: - lovely view, good breakfast, friendly hosts. We had a large double room with balcony overlooking the Stour estuary. Sunday morning was especially peaceful, and it's just a short walk down to the estuary.
We suspect the Aga makes the place quite hot, which could be a problem in summer.

The house also contains a fully accessible and equipped self-contained flat for disabled people. A great deal of thought and care has gone into this 2-bedroomed flat, with hoist, electric bed, even kitchen worktops that move up and down. The main bedroom has french windows opening directly onto the patio.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Wonderful comfort amongst serene surroundings. Fabulous breakfasts: original and tasty. Everything is spotless and cared for.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandsbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

I was fortunate enough to stay here with my grandma. The room was beautiful and complimented further with a stunning view of the estuary. Each morning we were greeted with warm smiles and delicious breakfast. I cannot recommended this place highly enough :) A great area to explore the region too as the B&B is in a easy to reach location which was handy when i did not have a GPS and was new to driving in the UK.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhoadse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manningtree
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
5.4 mi away
The Marlborough Head Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curlews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curlews

Property: Curlews
Address: Station Rd | Bradfield, Manningtree, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Manningtree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manningtree
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Curlews Manningtree, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing