We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked after us well!”
Review of The Bell Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
YORK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Looked after us well!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed one night here on our way home from the Eurotunnel. The pub is a fabulous old building but we stayed in room 8, a modern room with a terrific, well-designed wet-room style bathroom. It was very comfortable and quiet; the only problem was that the shower was incredibly hot even on the coolest setting. We ate a very good meal in the bustling pub and next day breakfast was served in the annex – you could choose from various different options, including a full English, or as I chose, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs – very tasty and lots of salmon, although it was cold: I prefer it when it’s chopped up a bit and mixed in with the egg. Service was very good, in fact all the staff were really pleasant and very helpful in smoothing my way as my mobility is not good. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    69
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
33
142
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

nice place good room , pub staff very helpful , food very good , but expensive , breakfast staff abrupt & grumpy , may have been a bad day , all in all would stay again , but i would not bother with breakfast , shame .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMF1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed for our final night over the Easter break at The Bell as it was near enough to Southend Airport and looked great from previous reviews. We weren't disappointed.

Great atmosphere on a busy Easter weekend, the only down side was we couldn't get any bar snacks until they started serving again at 7pm.

The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Very basic bathroom and the shower head was spraying everywhere where it should have been. All in all though, nice enough and comfortable.

Dinner was great - really good food and great service.

Room Tip: We had the Bonson Suite which is right next to the upstairs dining room. Basic for a Suite and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWINDON
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for the 1st time , a thursday night and the bar & restaurant were both busy wiith diners and drinkers, the food is tasty and interesting. My room was in Hill house, just up the street and was spacious, clean and modern. No complaints and in an area with a dearth of quality , reasonably priced places to stay will be getting my business again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGRIBBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Comfortable room, quite even if with window on the main road. Good heating and nice and clean bathroom, very good shower. Coffee/tea machine in the room.
Breakfast has a buffet and cooked dishes of very good quality. Polite and kind personnel both at the pub and the hotel.
I had no time to taste the food at the pub (arrived too late in the evening and left early in the morning) but appearance was good and seemed good caracyteristic inn food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Have been going to The Bell for many years now with friends and family and have probably visited at least one a year over the past ten. It never disappoints. The atmosphere is mellow with an old English charm you expect of a coaching inn located in a quaint Essex Village. The food is wonderfully cooked, well selected, fresh and tasty, I can honestly say that when dining there neither myself or members of our party have done anything other than give this place the Mmm factor. The tables are a little rickety and the seating is very cosy to say the least however due to the wonderful food and very good service, the furniture gets forgotten while the digestive juices are in seventh heaven. Would highly recommend for a lovely lazy lunch but be sure to book it is not just me who thinks this place is worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wise0ldbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My partner and I wanted to celebrate the anniversary of our first date locally. The Bell certainly did us proud. The food was stunning in taste, presentation and aroma. Apart from the venue that is oldie worlde, (which was very comfortable and cosy - we liked it), you would have thought you were in a top London restaurant. The staff were very friendly and informative on the menu and extensive wine list. A pub, the bar menu looked great as well, but with a stunning restaurant serving top notch food.

Room Tip: Did not stay at hotel. Only ate in restaurant which was amazing. Will be back. Soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horndon-on-the-Hill
1.3 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
583 reviews
8.2 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
960 reviews
14.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
713 reviews
4.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
512 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn Hotel

Property: The Bell Inn Hotel
Address: High Road, Horndon-on-the-Hill SS17 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Horndon-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horndon-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bell Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn Hotel is a boutique establishment featuring 27 individually-styled bedrooms. Some are above the 15th century coaching Inn with the rest in 2 beautifully converted Georgian buildings, a few paces up the high street. Rooms vary in size from cosy nooks to grand suites. All feature modern and period twists that are sympathetic to the listed buildings that house them. The hotel appears in The Times Cool Hotel List May 2014. Award winning food and bars are available in The Bell Inn and The Ostlers. Room Rates are inclusive of continental breakfast. Nearest Stations: Laindon - (10 minutes)West Horndon - (10 minutes)Nearest AirportsGatwick - (50 minutes)Heathrow - (60 minutes)Stansted - (45 minutes)Southend (30 mins)London City Airport (30 mins) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bell Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn And Hill House
Bell Inn & Hill House Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill
Bell Hotel Hill
The Bell Inn Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing