We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ovrnight Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bell Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ovrnight Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very decent inn. We stayed at the Hill House building for one night and the rooms were excellent valeu for money. Comfortable bed, decent size, large flat screen TV and for the price, great value for money so liitle to fault it really. Staff were very efficient and friendly.

The pub / restaurant also excellent and can fully understand why it was voted one of the 10 best gastropubs in the UK and Essex dining pub of the year in the Good Pub Guide 2012

Room Tip: Room 6 - decent sized double room at the top of the building under the eaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haakon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    66
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
32
133
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here recently for one night. Excellent food, great choice even catered for gluten free diet, very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely decorated rooms and good price. Would return. even dog friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Bell Inn does what it does exceptionally well. They obviously care about what they do and this permeates all aspects of the hotel and restaurant. The food is first class - imaginative menu, well delivered. Service is attentive, friendly, yet not overbearing.

Excellent bar, including diverse range of delicious real ales. Always enjoy going to The Bell.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were in the area for a wedding bank holiday weekend and stayed here on the recommendation of the groom. The pub was charming, very busy while we were there. The place was clean and the staff helpful. The village is a little out of the way so you need a car to be there really.
We were in room 1 in Hill House, it had a built in wardrobe, tv, dressing table and chair. Our room was directly above the restaurant which was noisy until about 10pm but it was a friday night on bank holiday weekend so to be expected really. We had friends staying in room 7 so had a peep in there - lovely big room with a living room and bathroom downstairs and the bed up (quite a tight) spiral staircase.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have just had a short stay at The Bell, and we cannot praise it highly enough. from the moment we arrived the staff were helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and the owners John and Christine were charming hosts. We stayed in the Hamilton suite, which is delightfully decorated, with a lovely large bathroom as well, We ate their twice and both times it was exquisite, an interesting varied menu, beautifully presented food, and the atmosphere in the dining room was excellent. we shall definately be staying their again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FishermansCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Having been going to The Bell for years,but it still remains a great place to eat. On our most recent visit, the food again had the wow factor. Loved it,will recommend it and be going back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Bell is the perfect pub/restaurant. It is rare in that it has managed to remain a vibrant pub, with an area for pub food. This area has managed the difficult balance in that that it doesn’t feel like you are standing in a restaurant, when you’re only after a pint whilst giving diners the feel that they are eating excellent food within a pub atmosphere. There is also a quality restaurant area away from the pub.

In the bar food area, bar food is served but you can also eat from the restaurant a la carte menu.

The menu changes every day and is varied, interesting and different – not the usual pub food.

We have been visiting the Bell regularly for 10 years and have taken all our friends and family over that period and are yet to be disappointed. Yes it can be on the expensive side but this is not pub grub or large portions.

Room Tip: We have not stayed in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LenHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horndon-on-the-Hill
1.3 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
13.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
8.3 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
10.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn Hotel

Property: The Bell Inn Hotel
Address: High Road, Horndon-on-the-Hill SS17 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Horndon-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horndon-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bell Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn Hotel is a boutique establishment featuring 27 individually-styled bedrooms. Some are above the 15th century coaching Inn with the rest in 2 beautifully converted Georgian buildings, a few paces up the high street. Rooms vary in size from cosy nooks to grand suites. All feature modern and period twists that are sympathetic to the listed buildings that house them. The hotel appears in The Times Cool Hotel List May 2014. Award winning food and bars are available in The Bell Inn and The Ostlers. Room Rates are inclusive of continental breakfast. Nearest Stations: Laindon - (10 minutes)West Horndon - (10 minutes)Nearest AirportsGatwick - (50 minutes)Heathrow - (60 minutes)Stansted - (45 minutes)Southend (30 mins)London City Airport (30 mins) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bell Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn And Hill House
Bell Inn & Hill House Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill
Bell Hotel Hill
The Bell Inn Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing